Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-08-12, 08:55 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Rack Mounted Atx case.

I am thinking of making all my pcs rack mount as it would save space, but i dont know where to look for rack mount cases and i need a rack mount cabinet. I have no idea where to look as i checked the mainstream places and they where way out of my budget. (£3000 for a case?!?!) But srsly im not rich so keep budget in mind. Thanks

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-12, 09:06 PM
MadMarc's Avatar
MadMarc MadMarc is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalewakelin View Post
I am thinking of making all my pcs rack mount as it would save space, but i dont know where to look for rack mount cases and i need a rack mount cabinet. I have no idea where to look as i checked the mainstream places and they where way out of my budget. (£3000 for a case?!?!) But srsly im not rich so keep budget in mind. Thanks
All server stuff is very expensive, so are rack case. How many pcs do you have that a huge rack cabinet would safe you space? If you want to put a desktop rig into a rack you'll need 4u chassis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-12, 09:12 PM
SEBAR's Avatar
SEBAR SEBAR is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalewakelin View Post
I am thinking of making all my pcs rack mount as it would save space, but i dont know where to look for rack mount cases and i need a rack mount cabinet. I have no idea where to look as i checked the mainstream places and they where way out of my budget. (£3000 for a case?!?!) But srsly im not rich so keep budget in mind. Thanks
IW-R300 is an inexpensive case. You have to remember that these rack mount systems are intended for business and not for individual consumers and will be very expensive.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-12, 09:14 PM
SEBAR's Avatar
SEBAR SEBAR is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalewakelin View Post
I am thinking of making all my pcs rack mount as it would save space, but i dont know where to look for rack mount cases and i need a rack mount cabinet. I have no idea where to look as i checked the mainstream places and they where way out of my budget. (£3000 for a case?!?!) But srsly im not rich so keep budget in mind. Thanks
Sorry for the double post. IE went cazy on me. the IW-R300 is inexpensive at $150-$200 US dollars.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-12, 09:36 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEBAR View Post
Sorry for the double post. IE went cazy on me. the IW-R300 is inexpensive at $150-$200 US dollars.
Sorry for the late reply i was having a fight with a daddy long legs, but any way yeah. I had a look on newegg and they had some cheapish ones.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-08-12, 09:38 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMarc View Post
All server stuff is very expensive, so are rack case. How many pcs do you have that a huge rack cabinet would safe you space? If you want to put a desktop rig into a rack you'll need 4u chassis
I have 3-5 computers and in the future a network switch which takes up 1U
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-08-12, 09:50 PM
MadMarc's Avatar
MadMarc MadMarc is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalewakelin View Post
I have 3-5 computers and in the future a network switch which takes up 1U
I'm just not sure if it's worth spending that much money, even if you find cheaper cases, I don't think there is a "value rack cabinet"
Also consider the noise that comes from the server grade fans

Please don't think I don't like the idea but it's just difficult to combine server and desktop stuff
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-12, 12:12 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMarc View Post
I'm just not sure if it's worth spending that much money, even if you find cheaper cases, I don't think there is a "value rack cabinet"
Also consider the noise that comes from the server grade fans

Please don't think I don't like the idea but it's just difficult to combine server and desktop stuff
I know, i might try looking for second hand server stuff and refurbing it. I have an abundance of fans so switching them shouldn't be a problem and i could control them.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-12, 02:51 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,604
Tripplite make inexpensive racks. It will depend on how tall you want it and if you want it enclosed. A 4 post open frame 13U rack is under $200. You can get a 42U for under $500.
__________________
CaseLabs Mercury S3 | AMD 3900X | ROG CH8 Impact | RTX 2080 Super | 16GB DDR4 | 1TB NVMe
Acer Predator Z35P


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-12, 03:52 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Im going to see if i can find any racks/cabinets on ebay and for actual cases i might go to rosewill or if i see something on ebay or maybe if a friend has or my local computer shop. I might go to tripplite for a rack.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
atx, case, mount, rack, server

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:47 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.