Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-03-18, 06:12 PM
Pugsport Pugsport is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 432
1u plex/file server build

well im after some advice on part to use for a plex/file server and if it would be doable in a 1u chassis

id like to use it to store files and also like to use it to run plex at the moment because ive not used plex before i was thinking of going down the i3 route which means id be able to upgrade the processor at a later date if more power was needed for streaming.

im not really sure what motherboard and ram to go for as i dont need all the bells whistles that most of the motherboards have like sli and/or crossfire

the only parts i have found to use so far are
Chassis: - https://www.xcase.co.uk/collections/...b-hotswap-bays
CPU Cooler: - https://www.xcase.co.uk/products/dyn...-active-cooler
Hard drives:- 4TB WD RED PRO or Seagate Ironwolf 4TB drives

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-18, 06:29 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,333
Cpu wise it all depends if you are going to be transcoding or not, are you going to be streaming from a remote location and will this location have low bandwidth ? If you are streaming locally then no transcoding is needed and you can go for a cheaper cpu.
__________________
Intel Core i7 8086K @ 5.00GHz Delidded @1.2v - Asus ROG Z370 Strix - G.SKill Aegis [email protected] 2x16GB - NZXT MANTA BLACK/RED - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110 Pro - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-18, 07:03 PM
Pugsport Pugsport is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Cpu wise it all depends if you are going to be transcoding or not, are you going to be streaming from a remote location and will this location have low bandwidth ? If you are streaming locally then no transcoding is needed and you can go for a cheaper cpu.
my plan is to have a small form factor PC in each location/room around the where content from the plex server will want to be used, so i guess server to PC wont require transcoding and i dont see at this point in time that people will be playing films via their phones or tablets.

the only thing i may find myself doing is every now and then watching a film on it round a friends via the internet but this will probably be once in a blue moon.

internal network speeds will be at least gigabit and i have fibre to the cabinet internet
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-18, 08:28 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,333
Then I guess your good for a cheapo cpu and 2 gigs of ram. This is even doable with a NAS. have you though about getting a synology, these run plex really well and even have dedicated hardware transcoding on the iGPU and would be much more power effecient.
__________________
Intel Core i7 8086K @ 5.00GHz Delidded @1.2v - Asus ROG Z370 Strix - G.SKill Aegis [email protected] 2x16GB - NZXT MANTA BLACK/RED - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110 Pro - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-18, 09:24 AM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 431
Perfectly doable IMO. The only limiting factor by going 1u other than cooling will be disk space as 4 bays doesn’t leave any room for future expansion. Presumably, you’re going to go for raid 0 or an equivalent software version of it.

As to transcoding, my server is powered by my old underclocked phenom II x4 which does ok with one 1080p stream being transcoded. Never tried multiple streams and I’m fairly sure 4K is out of the question.
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ AMD Radeon Vega 56 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
Seasonic Prime 750W ⁞⁞ Polaris 961 256GB ⁞⁞ 850 Pro 512GB ⁞⁞ M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB x2 ⁞⁞ HP LP2475w + Dell 2408WFP
Ducky Shine 5 ⁞⁞ AJA Kona LSe ⁞⁞ RME HDSPe AIO ⁞⁞ Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-18, 10:44 AM
sheroo's Avatar
sheroo sheroo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: U.K.
Posts: 3,220
I wouldn't bother with 1U unless your going with an Atom board or alike. The cooling fans tend to be 40mm and make an absolute racket, and you can't use a standard PSU.

Look at your storage requirements, work out how many drives you are going to need and start from there. Personally I would go i3 and 2U. You'll be able to use a standard PSU, with 80mm fan, chassis might have 80mm fan wall etc. Far more expandable...
__________________
"All his life has he looked away... to the future, to the horizon. Never his mind on where he was."

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-03-18, 05:24 PM
Pugsport Pugsport is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 432
thanks for the input guys and yes maybe your right i need to stick with a 2u or 3u case as looking to run at least 4 x 6tb drives to start with so extra room to add one or two would be good. not really sure on what cpu and motherboard combo would be good though
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-03-18, 07:39 PM
sheroo's Avatar
sheroo sheroo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: U.K.
Posts: 3,220
Asus Prime B250M-C & i3 7100 gets my vote.
__________________
"All his life has he looked away... to the future, to the horizon. Never his mind on where he was."

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-03-18, 12:58 PM
Pugsport Pugsport is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 432
thanks for that mate. out of interest dose anyone know if smart tvs that you can use with plexi server require transcoding at all?

also it would seem now that the server may have to also host a charity website of my dads, unless you guys think id be better off putting that on its own system
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.