Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-05-20, 10:57 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 17,970
Rumour has it that AMD's jumping to 5nm for Zen 3

That wasn't on AMD's roadmap...



Read more about AMD's rumoured move to 5nm with Zen 3.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-05-20, 01:12 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,844
I feel like this is an unnecessary risk and unlikely. It's also rumoured that the 5000 series will still be on 7nm. So using the 4000 series with 5nm and the 5000 series on 7nm doesn't make sense.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-05-20, 02:04 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 17,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
I feel like this is an unnecessary risk and unlikely. It's also rumoured that the 5000 series will still be on 7nm. So using the 4000 series with 5nm and the 5000 series on 7nm doesn't make sense.
Well, if the APUs are 7nm, that would make sense for the 5000 series. The APUs tend to be a generation behind.

AMD has already confirmed that Zen 4 will be on a 5nm node. That's on AMD's roadmap.

My gut feeling is that AMD isn't doing this, as they don't need to risk it beat Intel in a lot of markets. That said, with the Huawei situation, AMD has an opportunity to grab onto 5nm earlier to accelerate their roadmap.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-05-20, 02:32 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,538
Intel are already dead in the water in terms of progression.
AMD will be doing this to strengthen their position in the marketplace and grow, they clearly know they cannot get away with Intel style upgrades.
These things will not be cheap mind, AMD do not want to be the "cheap option" anymore.
__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-05-20, 03:32 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 6,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobM View Post
Intel are already dead in the water in terms of progression.
AMD will be doing this to strengthen their position in the marketplace and grow, they clearly know they cannot get away with Intel style upgrades.
These things will not be cheap mind, AMD do not want to be the "cheap option" anymore.
They want to be the only option. So 5nm could be the jackpot of risks if its true and pays off. Enthusiasts are a 1% market for them I guess. Its all about servers, OEMs, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-05-20, 03:39 PM
tgrech tgrech is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,909
Yeah I don't think there's enough evidence to give much weight to this rumour yet, especially given how long ago this change must have been decided. But given AMD's heavy use of HDL for their design(Tbf only Intel really don't use it at every level but for good reasons too) in theory it could have been possible without too many headaches if the design rules didn't vary much, particularly if they just updated the gate node and kept the spacing the same as 7nm(For heat dissipation reasons too, as with Zen+).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-05-20, 03:45 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,214
I would imagine the biggest reason they will do this is rather simply because they can.

There are many other perks to just being on a smaller node and looking cool in front of your mates, though.

Remember, Zen is a chiplet design. That means it is highly successful in yield, because tons of these small chiplets can be sliced from a wafer with minimal waste. The smaller the chiplets? the higher success rate and the lower the cost. After you have factored in the cost of the shrink itself, of course.

If Intel could shrink this easily? you can bet we would have gotten one every single year. Fact is their design SUCKS at it. Yeah they can shrink, but due to the design the clocks fall off of a cliff. That is why they never released their earlier parts, as they could barely muster about 2.8ghz.

Not only are AMD managing to shrink on the regs, but their clock speeds are increasing. And it will get to the point where they ARE faster than Intel on gaming, and Intel will be absolutely up the creek without a paddle.

And from what I am hearing on the ground? that will be Zen 3.

Just to add.

Intel's current tech will not ever make it to 5nm. It simply just does not work. That is why they hired Jim Keller. There is going to come a point soon where Intel are the "new AMD" and suck for a couple of years at least before they come up with something truly new.

They hired him what? two? three? years ago? it took AMD about 5 years to realise what he created. I would imagine it will take Intel about the same, hence the two year quote from a buddy of mine. IE - for two years nothing Intel make will be worth buying (like Piledriver) unless you are an absolute die hard (like all of the people who bought netburst P4s)
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-05-20, 04:00 PM
smilertoo smilertoo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 89
huawei

I wonder if AMD got bumped up the queue, rumours are huawei have been dropped.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-05-20, 04:06 PM
The_Crapman's Avatar
The_Crapman The_Crapman is online now
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 50
Don't see this happening at all. They'd need way more time to prep for it for a September release. What I could see happening is a very quick turnaround from the 4000 series to a straight die shrunk 5000 series, both for CPU's and GPU s. I think their GPUs would gain more from snatching an early die shrunk than the CPUs, against their competitors. AMD are far more behind Nvidia than they are Intel in terms of an arms race.
__________________
Project I.S.A.C. Project Log
Current Rig:i7 [email protected] w/ Heatkiller IV Pro Pure Copper, ASUS Z270i, 16GB Patriot Viper 4 3400MHz CL16, Zotac GTX 980Ti [email protected]/7804 w/ Custom Copper Watercool Heatkiller IV XL, Samsung 256GB 960 EVO M.2 and 120GB 840 EVO SSD, XSPC Twin DDC Dual Bay Res w/ 2x Laing DDC-1T Plus on watercooled Alphacool Heatmaster II, 2x 240mm Alphacool ST30 w/ EK Furious Vardar EVO fans on watercooled Aquearo 6LT, EKWB Cryofuel Clear, Fractal Arc Midi R2, Dell U2412M, CM Rapid-i w/Browns, R.A.T. 7, Kingston HyperX Cloud
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-05-20, 05:00 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
Well, if the APUs are 7nm, that would make sense for the 5000 series. The APUs tend to be a generation behind.

AMD has already confirmed that Zen 4 will be on a 5nm node. That's on AMD's roadmap.

My gut feeling is that AMD isn't doing this, as they don't need to risk it beat Intel in a lot of markets. That said, with the Huawei situation, AMD has an opportunity to grab onto 5nm earlier to accelerate their roadmap.
There's really no opportunity there for AMD.

Huawei was only using 15-20% capacity for 7nm. TSMC still are allowed for I believe 90 days to finish their already placed orders. After that there's just more 7nm capacity and I guarantee it's already been filled by anyone using 7nm. This doesn't really allow anything for 5nm. It would still be reserved first and foremost for Apple who is their largest customer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.