Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #201  
Old Today, 11:58 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,347
Back out of bed at 2am. Ended up downing tools at 3:30. The vanity panels are now fitted and man, what a difference it makes. All of the silver now disappears leaving only black.



Apols about pic. As I suspected it's quite dark today, with only white light (very cloudy).

Time to test its faculties.



Yup, seems like they are all there

Do excuse the fan noise. Obviously they are running at full pelt now and man, do they shift some air. I can't address that until the PC is smart and no longer dumb.

__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old Today, 12:14 PM
Cenedd Cenedd is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Do excuse the fan noise. Obviously they are running at full pelt now and man, do they shift some air. I can't address that until the PC is smart and no longer dumb.
What you need is an internal to external USB cable. Then you can program up the Aquaero by plugging it into another PC or laptop. I made one originally (before I'd bought pinning tools) by just looking the square plug off an A-B USB lead from a printer and then soldering the wires onto the lopped off end of a spare internal-internal lead from some Aquaero stuff. If you've already got an internal-internal lead glued on, a set of cut-off pins (or resistor legs - anything of the right size) will bridge between two internal plugs.
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old Today, 12:17 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,347
D'you know I thought about that, then realised I don't have a laptop lmao. It would have been very, very handy though. Kinda like when they program ECUs on cars. It would also stop that (quite terrifying) noise those fans make. At £5 I wasn't expecting much but gees, they are powerful. Like really powerful. I don't even want to think about how much worse it will be once the two in the front are humming along.

I should pick up a junker laptop when I can really. Just enough to run Windows like.

Forgot to say. The clock won't work until the USB hubs receive a signal from the mobo, so sadly I can't test that yet.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old Today, 02:48 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
D'you know I thought about that, then realised I don't have a laptop lmao. It would have been very, very handy though. Kinda like when they program ECUs on cars. It would also stop that (quite terrifying) noise those fans make. At £5 I wasn't expecting much but gees, they are powerful. Like really powerful. I don't even want to think about how much worse it will be once the two in the front are humming along.

I should pick up a junker laptop when I can really. Just enough to run Windows like.

Forgot to say. The clock won't work until the USB hubs receive a signal from the mobo, so sadly I can't test that yet.
Are your fans squeeling when using PWM through the AqC controller? My vardar were terrible for it via the controller.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old Today, 02:54 PM
Cenedd Cenedd is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 51
FWIW I run a couple of Varders off an Aquaero 6 in PWM mode. One is a 120mm Furious Varder and the other is a 140mm ER Varder (Extended Range). Neither of them squeal at all but they tend to be run between 90 to 100%. The 120mm Furious exhausts hot air from my under-stairs server cupboard down about 13" of duct....hence the spec for high static pressure. Need another intake though. Is the problem you're having only when running them very slow?
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old Today, 03:01 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Are your fans squeeling when using PWM through the AqC controller? My vardar were terrible for it via the controller.
Nope. I am not using PWM I am using volts dude. Mind you they may squeal, but I hear Vardars are the worst for that (and motor noise and jittering). We'll see I guess

More done ! decided to cover the tacky Chinese logos on the ram coolers. First I found the logo...



Changed it a little bit.



Et voila (it's more Fifty Shades Of Grey, but ho hum it's an improvement).



I had to remember to flip the memory for two. Good old X99, it flips the ram banks.



Cleaned up the CPU.



Then I used a combination of AC posts and springs but with EK bolts. They are just so much nicer looking.



And.



Next up coffee and pills, then I need to daisy chain the RGBs and tape them under the board. I also need to make an IO shield.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old Today, 03:54 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cenedd View Post
FWIW I run a couple of Varders off an Aquaero 6 in PWM mode. One is a 120mm Furious Varder and the other is a 140mm ER Varder (Extended Range). Neither of them squeal at all but they tend to be run between 90 to 100%. The 120mm Furious exhausts hot air from my under-stairs server cupboard down about 13" of duct....hence the spec for high static pressure. Need another intake though. Is the problem you're having only when running them very slow?
2 or 3 fans are fine. but hook up 8 and they will really scream when you drop them to 40-50% pwm.

They just dont like the phasing from the AqC. If I run a swiftech 8 port hub and then on the mobo, the fans are fine. Even works fine in my lamptron controller.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old Today, 04:04 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,380
are you changing the ram from white to black?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old Today, 04:29 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
are you changing the ram from white to black?
Nope.

Well one thing is clear, I won't need a Christmas tree or any decorations this year. Simply set the outside case lighting to red and the inside green, instant St Nick.











__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.