Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 08-12-19, 02:21 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,622
I'm still playing with Ryzen Master and I have done a manual overclock to 4.3ghz all core and set 1.35v.

With Cinebench R15 underload I have vdroop to 1.244v on all cores and its stable.

Power into the VRM's is shown as 237w

I think I will order another board with a better VRM, most probably the ASUS Strix X570i Gaming although I do like the idea of thunderbolt 3 on the Asrock x570 itx...


__________________
Intel Core i9 7980xe @ 4.5GHz @1.18v - MSI MEG X299 - NoName 2666mhz @ CL19 3200mhz - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x2 - Aorous Extreme RTX 2080 Ti - 2 x 360 Rad + D5 Pump - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-12-19, 05:35 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,622
So in fact I feel like I passed a masters degree in AMD processors last night:

Apparently ZEN 2 is nothing like we have seen before and clocks I see are completely normal.

All explained here: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...the_zen_2_faq/

Quote:
My Zen 2 CPU is not downclocking when idle. Is that normal?
It is. Zen 2 uses an extremely aggresive "race to sleep" approach. The CPU cores will sleep, wake up, boost, do work and go back to sleep in miliseconds.

Ryzen Master and HWInfo64 can accurately track this downclocking behaviour, named "effective clock", and other software may simply display the base clock instead. However, according to the manufacturers and devs, this does not mean that your CPU is not downclocking when idle. Also, make sure you're using the Ryzen Balanced power plan provided by the AMD Chipset driver.

A possible reason for your CPU not downclocking properly is CPPC2 (Collaborative Power and Performance Control) and Cool'n'Quiet being disabled. These options can be available on some motherboards, allowing the user to change them manually. It seems many vendor's "Auto" function actually ends up with it disabled. Without these features enabled the CPU may show high idle frequency issues. However, according to a Gigabyte rep, Cool'n'Quiet was removed from the BIOS by AMD in AGESA itself, so it is possible that you will not find the option.

If you feel that your CPU is indeed not downclocking at all, there may be a rogue app, a faulty BIOS setting or implementation, or some other software issue. Contact the community or AMD's support for assistance.
__________________
Intel Core i9 7980xe @ 4.5GHz @1.18v - MSI MEG X299 - NoName 2666mhz @ CL19 3200mhz - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x2 - Aorous Extreme RTX 2080 Ti - 2 x 360 Rad + D5 Pump - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-12-19, 12:48 PM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Seems like you found the culprit, on AMD balanced profile and on 1usmus profile minimum cpu state is set to 99% ! ! !

Yeah I also been wondering why it's necessary to have a "balanced" profile run at a minimum of 90-99%. Doesn't seem balanced at all to me, which is why I use Bitsum Process Lasso to handle my CPU affinity and power profiles.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-12-19, 04:47 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,882
What you need to keep in mind as well is that with AMD and Ryzen, they are still having voltage issues with their BIOS. Ryzen are running rather high voltages on auto.

Just by doing basic web browsing etc, my 3700X were hovering around 1.4 - 1.5V, and that is stock clocks. Had to manually downclock it to a 1.3V for now, will go lower once I have the time to fully sit in and test the stability of undervolting.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 14-12-19, 07:48 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,622
Switched over to an asrock x570 itx board, VRM temps never above 65c even after 20 minute aida64 stability test. Idle cpu temps seem to be much lower on this board, around 29c.

This board has TB3, would love to get an external 10gbs network card.

__________________
Intel Core i9 7980xe @ 4.5GHz @1.18v - MSI MEG X299 - NoName 2666mhz @ CL19 3200mhz - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x2 - Aorous Extreme RTX 2080 Ti - 2 x 360 Rad + D5 Pump - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.