Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-06-09, 11:26 PM
AndrewDrinnan AndrewDrinnan is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 32
Upgrade from Q6600

I need your expertise...Please

I am in the mood for an upgrade and i dont usually have the chance since i have kids to feed.

I am fed up with my Q6600, if you read my thread http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=27556 you will see why.

Basically I have some money to spend and i was going to get myself a laptop but i am weighing up the option of upgrading my PC.

I NEED! to get a new case and i fancy the Antec 900. But I'm having trouble with the processor choice.

I would like to get the Q9550 but i have seen 2 versions of it on www.scan.co.uk

The cheaper Q9550 BX80569Q9550A

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Intel...che-85x-Retail

Or the slightly more expensive Q9550S Energy efficient BX80569Q9550S

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Intel...2-Cache-Retail

???

Does anybody know which 1 is usually better for overclocking? They almost have the same specs apart from the Q9550S obviously has the lower wattage rating since its the energy efficient version.

The 'S' does have a higher max temp too, of 5C. Does that mean anything in regards to overclocking?

I would rather get the cheaper version ofcourse but if the S will overclock better, i'd pay that bit extra.

Core i7 isnt an option here as i dont have the cash to buy a new cpu, motherboard and memory.

Thank you in advance for any advice given to me

__________________
21.5" Asus VH222S Black Widescreen LCD, 1920x1080, 5ms

Antec 900 Case

Lapped Q6600 VID 1.3250 Max CPU clock 3.3GHz

P7N SLI Platinum with Zalman NP9500

XFX GTX260 Black Edition

2x2GB OCZ SLI Ready DDR2 800Mhz

2x160GB Seagate Barracuda's in RAID0 for OS + 1x500GB for storage

Icy Box NAS with 2TB's for home storage and server usefulness

Corsair TX650W
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-09, 01:33 AM
mayhem's Avatar
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,356
erm if you not going core I7 Then just stick with the q6600.

Dont even bother upgrading. Just because it over clocks more your just throwing money down the drain. Your Q6600 can cope with any thing right now so why waste money ..

My advice. Keep what you have. Save up more and then build a new rig later on.
__________________
All support is now handled direct at http://support.mayhems.net/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-09, 06:09 AM
Lynx's Avatar
Lynx Lynx is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'
erm if you not going core I7 Then just stick with the q6600.

Dont even bother upgrading. Just because it over clocks more your just throwing money down the drain. Your Q6600 can cope with any thing right now so why waste money ..

My advice. Keep what you have. Save up more and then build a new rig later on.


i upgraded from a Q6600 to a E8600 and there's no point, it could handle everything i threw at it anyway..
__________________
NZXT S340 / i7-4790 / MSI Z97 Gaming 3 / TeamGroup Vulcan 8GB / MSI GTX 970 / Sandisk 256GB & 960GB / Super Flower 450W Platinum
XSPC RayStorm / EK-FC970 / EK-D5 XTOP Revo / Alphacool NexXxoS ST30 240 / 4 x Venturi HP-12
Silverstone GD09 / i5-4570 / Gigabyte B85-HD3 / Hynix 8GB / Asus RX 480 OC / Drevo 240GB / WD 3TB Red PRO / EVGA 500W
Acer XB270HA / AOC G2770PF / Corsair K65 / Corsair K65 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Logitech Z333
Phanteks ITX / i5-4690 / Asus H81-Plus / Kingston HyperX 8GB / PowerColour RX470 / Sandisk 240GB / Hitachi 2TB / Corsair CX500M
HP Envy 13" / i5-6200U / 8GB / Samsung 256GB / QHD+ IPS / Fingerprint Reader
Asus N550LF 15" / i5-4200U / 6GB / GT 745M / SK 250GB / Touchscreen
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-09, 11:36 AM
rapidman17 rapidman17 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'
erm if you not going core I7 Then just stick with the q6600.

Dont even bother upgrading. Just because it over clocks more your just throwing money down the drain. Your Q6600 can cope with any thing right now so why waste money ..

My advice. Keep what you have. Save up more and then build a new rig later on.
Best advice really...ocing the q6600 is the best option atm....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-09, 11:58 AM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,970
I think the Q6600 is a fantastic chip and as people have already said, you would be wasting your money. The Q6600 can easily get to 4Ghz (Watercooled) and about 3.6Ghz on air.
__________________
Main System: Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8Ghz, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz, Geforce GTX 560 Ti

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-09, 01:28 PM
PCTwin PCTwin is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chorley. Lancs.
Posts: 648
Buy a new case by all means, but instead of a processor, go SLI with another GFX.
__________________
17 7700k
MSI Z270 Tomahawk
32GB G.skill TridentZ 3600Mhz
MSI GTX1080ti GamingX Trio
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-06-09, 01:39 PM
mayhem's Avatar
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PCTwin'
Buy a new case by all means, but instead of a processor, go SLI with another GFX.
Why go Sli he has no need to. Sli is just a gimmick and mainly only good for certain games or situation or bragging rights.

If he was building a folding rig then yeh sli but since hes only talking about over clocking its a waste of money again and all so pointless.

Personly i only recommend SLI for

1) People who like to show off how much money they have!

2) People running games at high res on a decent screen and want the best out there system who have plenty of money to spend and btw ATI cards are better for gaming with duel cards.

3) When folding (then use Nvidia sli)

Sli is well over rated and is still not perfect and never will be. But given the right conditions it will flourish but that is not what this tread is about.
__________________
All support is now handled direct at http://support.mayhems.net/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-06-09, 01:43 PM
noobieocer noobieocer is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 423
i trade ya my antec 900 for the q6600 XD :P

tbh i got a e2160 @ 3.7ghz and 8800gt 512mb and its fine for everything i do. i really dont see any point in upgrading or getting a quad or even a i7 unless i do folding or buy a really high res monitor. currently im gamming on 1680x1050 res and its coping fine.

but then again im seriouse if you getting rid of it and you want my antec 900 i swap it scince im working on my project bumblebee, and my antec 900 sooner or later will become useless and if i can get rid of it for something that will upgrade then i do it

btw its in very good condition, comes with 2 ac rayan dust filters in front intakes, stock fans and no scratches. well some tiny invisible scratches that came from wear and tear, owned for 1 year and will give a good clean before you take it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-06-09, 01:47 PM
PCTwin PCTwin is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chorley. Lancs.
Posts: 648
What's the overclock for then. better gaming or bragging rights.
__________________
17 7700k
MSI Z270 Tomahawk
32GB G.skill TridentZ 3600Mhz
MSI GTX1080ti GamingX Trio
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-06-09, 01:52 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
Get a laptop

And how's that 1920x1080 resolution look on the ASUS ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:43 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.