Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 12-06-09, 01:57 PM
mayhem's Avatar
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,356
Over clock doesn't improve gaming that much any more as games are becoming less depend on cpu and more dependent on GPU speed and ram.

As for me a cpu over clock does improve the type of gaming i do such as emulation as this is less dependant on GPU and more dependant of CPU. Nothing at all to do with bragging rights. More to do with getting the right FPS and calculations working correctly under various loads ...

Water cooling is a hobbie and they main underlying factors are about getting to most out of the equipment you own with the least over all cost.

Yes it can all so be about bragging rights if you going for world records or building a Custom built rig but basic over clocking has nothing to do with that at all. When talking about standard over clocking braging rights never come into it as you'll never get there on water cooling alone you'll need LN2 if you need that ...

__________________
All support is now handled direct at http://support.mayhems.net/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-06-09, 02:02 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,387
Tox man... 4GHz aint easy on water with a Q6600... Ya need a decent chip for that. I had a Q6600 briefly that couldn't get there stable at all and my full time Q6700 could only manage 3.8GHz 24/7 stable.

That was on a single block loop high end water.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
I think the Q6600 is a fantastic chip and as people have already said, you would be wasting your money. The Q6600 can easily get to 4Ghz (Watercooled) and about 3.6Ghz on air.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-06-09, 02:04 PM
noobieocer noobieocer is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'
As for me a cpu over clock does improve the type of gaming i do such as emulation as this is less dependant on GPU and more dependant of CPU.
always wondered what kinda games do you play? the old snes and gameboy games?

CPU: Intel Core2Duo E8600 @ 4500mhz - 10 x 450mhz

overkill =/ ?

noticed:

Case: Antec NineHundred

Cooling: PA120.3

how did you get that in there!? or is it external?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-06-09, 02:07 PM
mayhem's Avatar
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,356
check out my project thread under c-macc's 2. this is going off topic fast lol ...
__________________
All support is now handled direct at http://support.mayhems.net/
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-06-09, 02:19 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,387
Yes mate it is external.. Here is a link to a hi res pic: Linky

As for overkill... Is there such a thing? I only got rid of my Q6700 so I could overclock the nuts off an E8600 before moving to i7 or i5 start of next year.

I will be looking for higher than that when it gets in the new mobo in this project here: Linky

Anyway yeah this has got a bit off topic.. back at OP: I wouldn't say it's worth swapping the CPU for anything else other than i5 / i7 unless you have some money to burn or just want a new toy to play with (like me). If you want it to last a while, the a Q9550 is def not worth the money over your Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='noobieocer'
always wondered what kinda games do you play? the old snes and gameboy games?

CPU: Intel Core2Duo E8600 @ 4500mhz - 10 x 450mhz

overkill =/ ?

noticed:

Case: Antec NineHundred

Cooling: PA120.3

how did you get that in there!? or is it external?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-06-09, 02:42 PM
noobieocer noobieocer is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 423
o oops, i read cmacs post and then saw ur sig lol thought cmac used a dual core for snes games XD
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-06-09, 02:49 PM
mayhem's Avatar
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,356
I use quad core q6600 go stepping and it over clocks to 3.4 on air and haven't got a clue on water as im still building up my kit. I have had it to 3.8 on air but it was not stable and there for no good. I have run at 3.6 ghz stable as well but i know over time there would be heat build up hence only running at 3.4 on air.

All so both my daughter's and son have q6600's abit over kill for them but again there all running at 3.4 on air as well.

When i bought all my cpu's there were all at scan for £99 inc so it was a worth while buy.

I all so have a E5200 running on air with freezer pro 7 running at 3.8ghz fine.
__________________
All support is now handled direct at http://support.mayhems.net/
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-06-09, 05:51 PM
AndrewDrinnan AndrewDrinnan is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Get a laptop

And how's that 1920x1080 resolution look on the ASUS ?
Maybe i will keep the Q6600 and possibly go for sli since i like gaming at full rez. The monitor is quality, i couldnt fault it. Very good contrast ratio and not a single blur to be seen when playing fast action games. I think it was well worth the £150 price tag as i seen lots of more expensive screens that cost more. Plus it has built in speakers and hdmi so i can plug my ps3 straight into it.
__________________
21.5" Asus VH222S Black Widescreen LCD, 1920x1080, 5ms

Antec 900 Case

Lapped Q6600 VID 1.3250 Max CPU clock 3.3GHz

P7N SLI Platinum with Zalman NP9500

XFX GTX260 Black Edition

2x2GB OCZ SLI Ready DDR2 800Mhz

2x160GB Seagate Barracuda's in RAID0 for OS + 1x500GB for storage

Icy Box NAS with 2TB's for home storage and server usefulness

Corsair TX650W
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-06-09, 06:00 PM
AndrewDrinnan AndrewDrinnan is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
The Q6600 can easily get to 4Ghz (Watercooled) and about 3.6Ghz on air.
I take it you didnt click the link to my previous topic about my Q6600 that seems like it came from the bottom of the bad batch bin.

Thanks everyone for their say, i will stick with the Q6600 and get an Antec 900. As far as the 2nd graphics card is concerned. I might just leave it at that
__________________
21.5" Asus VH222S Black Widescreen LCD, 1920x1080, 5ms

Antec 900 Case

Lapped Q6600 VID 1.3250 Max CPU clock 3.3GHz

P7N SLI Platinum with Zalman NP9500

XFX GTX260 Black Edition

2x2GB OCZ SLI Ready DDR2 800Mhz

2x160GB Seagate Barracuda's in RAID0 for OS + 1x500GB for storage

Icy Box NAS with 2TB's for home storage and server usefulness

Corsair TX650W
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 14-06-09, 11:51 PM
Nathanial Nathanial is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 12
Stick with the Q6600-G0 i have been using mine since it was 1st ever released and have loved it since the only other cpu upgrade option i could recomend you is the INTEL E8600 but thats only worth it if your benching other than that I7 is your best bet if not wait around for I5.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:47 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.