Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-10-16, 08:24 PM
Senseless Senseless is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 6
Arrow Need guidance with 8350 overclock

Hello guys! Always watch the OC3D youtube channel and i thought this might be the place to come for answers.

Let me preface this by saying, I've never overclocked a CPU before and i'm aware of how shameful that is. I've currently owned an fx8350 with a budget Asus M5A97 R2.0 mobo for two years come 11/16. It was my first build and with the settings I got at the time with a 270x, the CPU was always more than enough, and it's remained stock all this time for the sake of silence. However I've upgraded my GPU to a GTX 1070 and boy oh boy is the bottleneck real! Battlefield 1 has been bringing my 8350 to its knees. 80-100% during online play and my framerate can tell. Temps are skyrocketing because of the max usage combined with aging paste, my turbo boost to 4.2 rarely happens because the throttling, and it's really just killing my experience.

---Problem A *solved*Clearly my thermal paste is shot. I have a hyper 212 evo that used to keep temps well below 65C at all times no exceptions(59C max during the summer). I've went as high as 74C recently. So Since i have to take the 212 evo off to put new paste on and I Planned on buying a new cooler for my upgrade anyway (if and when zen/kaby lake ever come out) I've just went ahead and ordered a Noctua NHD15 and I will be putting that one within the next 48 hours. So that should help with the throttling and the ridiculous temps I've been getting. Even at 100% 74C is just not acceptable.

---Problem B - Now that I'll have my temps back down to healthy levels and even more overclocking headroom, I have no idea how to. There's many guides on the 970 chipset, and almost every one shows a bios that looks incredibly different than mine. Even similar mobos by Asus. So please if anyone has any great idiot proof universal experience with the 8350 and 970 chipset please share. The only thing i know how to do from my bios is make sure my ram is running at 1600mhz if that shows you how green I am.

-note- my 8350 runs at 1.388V at the stock 4Ghz
1.425V at the turbo 4.2Ghz.
From what I'm reading i may be able to get a decent overclock just on stock voltage.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-10-16, 08:40 PM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is offline
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,339
You won't go that far with that cooler of yours as the 8350 tends to get a little bit toasty when you bump up the volts.

Since you are on the 970 chipset I would recommend going plain and simple.
Start at 1.388Volts and bump up the multiplier from 20 up a bit, test with OCCT on linpak, see if stable, if not bump up voltage by 0.0025 (just pres + on your numpad), test with OCCT, repeat


Oh and regarding the load line calibration... It might help you having it on high but it will mess up the temperatures quite a lot..


I'm on the 990FX platform and there I think going for the NB and base clock OC gets you slightly better results but the 990FX platform is suited for that tinkering, but that requires tinkering with the nb voltage, the cpu/nb voltage and so on.
__________________

--------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Theory is when you have the "know how" but nothing works.
Practice is when everything works but no one knows why.
In our lab, theory and practice are combined: Nothing works and no one knows why
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-10-16, 08:45 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,889
Do you mean M59a7?

If so that is a six phase board with half decent fet cooling. I got 4.4ghz out of a 8320 on that board. It won't deliver any more than 1.42v no matter how high you set it.. Hmm, now where did I put that thread?...

http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=70108

Look for the blue bios screens, they should give you what you need. The best stress test for the FX 8 is Asus Realbench 2.0. If you make it through the Heavy Multitasking test without a freeze you should be golden.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-10-16, 09:10 PM
Senseless Senseless is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Do you mean M59a7?

If so that is a six phase board with half decent fet cooling. I got 4.4ghz out of a 8320 on that board. It won't deliver any more than 1.42v no matter how high you set it.. Hmm, now where did I put that thread?...

http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=70108

Look for the blue bios screens, they should give you what you need. The best stress test for the FX 8 is Asus Realbench 2.0. If you make it through the Heavy Multitasking test without a freeze you should be golden.
e. Yes got a little dyslexic there.
Thank you so much for that post you linked me too. I'm going to comb through that a few times. I also stumbled on this youtube video https://youtu.be/jG7p95M6gso of a fx6300 overclock on the same mobo. I don't know how much i trust it though. Always wary of a 184 sub channel
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-10-16, 08:54 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,889
There are two screen shots there and they contain all of the changes you need to make. LLC, the bus I got (227 IIRC) and the voltages etc. That should get you to 4.4.

With that board it's essential to go the bus route (no, not the number 52 ) as multi tends to need voltages that board can't deliver. I was also temp limited so you may find you can leave the multi at 20 instead of 19 and get 4.6ghz. It's down to just how much voltage your CPU needs to be stable and whether that board can give enough.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-10-16, 02:54 AM
Senseless Senseless is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 6
UPDATE- The Noctua NH-D15 came in today and is installed.
With ambient temps around 18-19C i was maxing out in the mid 40's on real bench.
Had to head in to work so only had time to slap the auto OC on and play one round of conquest. Jumped up to 4.33GHZ and leveled out at 52C. i really don't think 4.4ghz is going to be a problem.

Bonus points this cooler is pulling so much air that my 1070 dropped about 5 degrees so the fans won't even turn on now lol.

future reference should i set my voltage according to core vid or vcore?
i generally understand the difference but i don't know which one applies to the voltage in the bios
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-10-16, 08:59 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Senseless View Post
UPDATE- The Noctua NH-D15 came in today and is installed.
With ambient temps around 18-19C i was maxing out in the mid 40's on real bench.
Had to head in to work so only had time to slap the auto OC on and play one round of conquest. Jumped up to 4.33GHZ and leveled out at 52C. i really don't think 4.4ghz is going to be a problem.

Bonus points this cooler is pulling so much air that my 1070 dropped about 5 degrees so the fans won't even turn on now lol.

future reference should i set my voltage according to core vid or vcore?
i generally understand the difference but i don't know which one applies to the voltage in the bios
Excellent try and get to 4.5ghz if you can. That's the happy number on these chips any way, because once you pass 4.7ghz you enter the realm of diminishing returns. IE you need a buttload of voltage, buttload of NB voltage etc and you're creating mad heat and it's not even that much better.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
8350, amd, beginner, help needed, newb

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.