Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Customer Care Forums > Corsair Customer Care Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 18-08-15, 05:48 PM
Grey_beard's Avatar
Grey_beard Grey_beard is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,076
Explanation of RMi's New Type 4 Cables

Most of you probably already know, but for those who are wondering why our RMi PSUs have an excellent ripple suppression, the answer in the cables.

RMi's Type 4 Cables

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-08-15, 06:55 PM
MadShadow MadShadow is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 3,282
Very cool, I wouldn't have thought of that. Is that something new or has it been done before?
__________________
|i5 4460|8GB RAM|R9 380 4GB|ASUS Z97-I Plus|WD Blue 1TB|Corsair RM650|Phanteks Enthoo EVOLV ITX|


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-08-15, 08:04 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,453
Does this only apply to the 24 pin ?

Just curious as I'm not sure Cablemods replacement pack has taken this into account for the rest of the cables, I know they still need to bring a compatible 24 pin out.
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-08-15, 08:41 PM
Grey_beard's Avatar
Grey_beard Grey_beard is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,076
The additional solid capacitors are added on the 24pin, PCI-E, and EPS cables.

I'm sure that Cablemods is well aware of those caps, just not sure if they have taken them into account with their verison.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-08-15, 08:48 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey_beard View Post
The additional solid capacitors are added on the 24pin, PCI-E, and EPS cables.

I'm sure that Cablemods is well aware of those caps, just not sure if they have taken them into account with their verison.
That's a little worrying.

Might have to switch back to the stock Corsair cables just incase and until Cablemod gets back to me.

Knew I should have gone with the official Corsair replacement kit
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-08-15, 08:03 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
That's a little worrying.

Might have to switch back to the stock Corsair cables just incase and until Cablemod gets back to me.

Knew I should have gone with the official Corsair replacement kit

No need to worry - Im the reason for the delay. The reason is the caps. Cablemod will probably have cables out before Corsair. Ive already had two different colours here and had them on the PSU tester.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-08-15, 08:10 AM
Doomslayer Doomslayer is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
No need to worry - Im the reason for the delay. The reason is the caps. Cablemod will probably have cables out before Corsair. Ive already had two different colours here and had them on the PSU tester.
That's good to know TTL
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19-08-15, 08:26 AM
Grey_beard's Avatar
Grey_beard Grey_beard is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
No need to worry - Im the reason for the delay. The reason is the caps. Cablemod will probably have cables out before Corsair. Ive already had two different colours here and had them on the PSU tester.
Most likely, because we still don't have an ETA for ours.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19-08-15, 08:35 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,942
They were going to pump them out without the caps until I said if they did I would put something live showing the difference in performance, all we have been working on since is the best place to put them along the cable
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19-08-15, 10:17 AM
TPC's Avatar
TPC TPC is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: D:\BW\Stuttgart
Posts: 1,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
They were going to pump them out without the caps until I said if they did I would put something live showing the difference in performance, all we have been working on since is the best place to put them along the cable
my noob brain would say put them closed to the PSU.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:28 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.