Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 01-11-14, 05:26 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelosouvlakia View Post
Is there a way I can switch from ide mode without windows failing to boot?
To switch to AHCI after you've installed in IDE mode, you need to edit the Windows registry first then reboot, and then switch over in the bios.. This is the only fix I know of, apart from doing a fresh install.

1) Run the Registry Editor (regedit.exe)
2) Navigate to Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\Msahci
3) Set the "Start" value to 0 (zero)
4) Navigate to Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\Pciide
5) Set the "Start" value to 0 (zero)
6) Shut down
7) Start up again, but before Windows boots go into the BIOS configuration screens and change the disk mode to "AHCI". Save the new BIOS configuration and restart so that Windows boots.

I hope this finds you well.

__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-01-15, 09:46 AM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is offline
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraithguard View Post
I hope this finds you well.
You and me both because if this fails and I will have to re-install windows, mom is going to get angry at me for "breaking the computer", again :P
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Some people choose to compress data as they are beeing written on the SSD to conserve space. Do you recommend that?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-01-15, 12:35 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelosouvlakia View Post
Some people choose to compress data as they are beeing written on the SSD to conserve space. Do you recommend that?
Data Compression! I haven't done that since Windows 3.11 days when I had 100Mb - 400Mb of disk space.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18-03-15, 08:18 AM
Highlander89's Avatar
Highlander89 Highlander89 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 304
This is a great guide Wraith! Ran through it yesterday and it was very easy to follow. Just some pointers:

When I tried to enable TRIM via the cmd prompt using
Quote:
fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 0
I got
Quote:
the fsutil utility requires that you have administrative privileges
the solution was to left click cmd and run as admin lol


The "system" folder in HKLM was left out.

Quote:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Sessi onManager\Memory Management\PrefetchParameters
And perhaps also worth mentioning is the 840 EVO firmware update. Download link
I tried AS SSD Benchmark without the firmware update and I got a score of 841. After update I got 954:



Quite the difference.
Thanks for a great guide!
__________________
I7 4790K -- Asus Z97-AR -- GTX 770 4GB -- 16GB DDR3
840 EVO -- WD Green 3TB -- CS 750M -- NZXT 810 -- BenQ GL2450 -- Asus ROG PG279Q
XSPC Raystorm -- Heatkiller GPU X3 -- Alphacool D5 -- Noiseblocker Blacksilent -- 420 & 360 Nexxos UT60

--P180 Resurrection--
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-11-15, 02:18 AM
justrd justrd is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
We're now coming into holiday season 2015. I think now would be a good time to make a good writeup for the new NVMe based PCIE 3.0/M.2 drives!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-11-15, 07:31 AM
shambles1980's Avatar
shambles1980 shambles1980 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North wales
Posts: 1,185
quite a lot of it becomes supurfluous as windows os's are built with ssd'd in mind..

also achi and raid will work. so you dont have to change from raid.
__________________
i7 2600, intel dz77sl-50k, 16gb 1600 DDR3, 900d case, gtx 780 @ 1306/1727 "xspc block", 1x 240 1x360 1x480 rads 2 bay res, http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14829772
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-11-15, 11:53 AM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by justrd View Post
We're now coming into holiday season 2015. I think now would be a good time to make a good writeup for the new NVMe based PCIE 3.0/M.2 drives!
The moment I get one I will do a guide, until then if anyone else has experience of these drives a guide would be appreciated. ��
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-11-15, 02:52 AM
jimma47's Avatar
jimma47 jimma47 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hobart, Australia
Posts: 1,738
Thanks Wraith. Nice work
__________________
Rig Gallery - Krusty III

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-11-15, 08:24 AM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
as a side note, don't completely remove your pagefile, some games (notably battlefield series) actually require it. (I'm aware of how old this thread is)
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-11-15, 09:58 AM
jimma47's Avatar
jimma47 jimma47 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hobart, Australia
Posts: 1,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
as a side note, don't completely remove your pagefile, some games (notably battlefield series) actually require it. (I'm aware of how old this thread is)
I removed mine a while back and then ended up putting it back (was still getting pagefault in non paged area issues) I just have it on a mechanical drive instead of the SSD.

Won't be too long before Mechanicals go the way of the floppys. Aside from massive storage 6tb and up. SSDs are so cheap now.
__________________
Rig Gallery - Krusty III

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:25 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.