Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 09-11-15, 10:19 AM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimma47 View Post
I removed mine a while back and then ended up putting it back (was still getting pagefault in non paged area issues) I just have it on a mechanical drive instead of the SSD.

Won't be too long before Mechanicals go the way of the floppys. Aside from massive storage 6tb and up. SSDs are so cheap now.
Yeah I leave it on a little on an SSD to keep the read/write speed up on it but you don't need much, it just needs to exist and be a reasonable size, maybe a GB or a half GB?

I remember when I setup my 32GB ram for the first time, windows does 2.5x your ram as the page file on initial setup.. I was like.. wtf where'd my SSD space go!? Oh.. pagefile 80GB file reduced to 1GB \o/ yay

__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-11-15, 10:31 AM
jimma47's Avatar
jimma47 jimma47 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hobart, Australia
Posts: 1,738
same. Or back up iPhone add that to an Nvidia folder and all your SSD are belong to us.
__________________
Rig Gallery - Krusty III

Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 22-04-17, 02:47 PM
Vipermk2's Avatar
Vipermk2 Vipermk2 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK, Sol 3
Posts: 98
Are all the setting in the first post still relevant?
__________________
ROG Maximus XI Code - i9 9900k - 32Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum - Samsung 960 Pro 512 - Seasonic Prime 750w - Noctua NH-U14S - K70 RGB LUX - GTX 1080Ti Strix - Acer Predator XB321HK- Windows 10 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 22-04-17, 02:50 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vipermk2 View Post
Are all the setting in the first post still relevant?
Yes they are. But i would enable page file 400MB initial and 2GB max. There are some games and apps that won't work when there is no page file. Assuming that you have 8GB+ RAM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.