Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Customer Care Forums > Corsair Customer Care Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #31  
Old 02-05-14, 03:10 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualTune View Post
Well sounds like Dual Xeon might be the better option for Cores/$$$.
You do know a dual socket Xeon board will set you back £400 and then each Xeon CPU will cost at least £600 right ?
You would be spending near £2000 just for a motherboard and CPU which is just crazy.

__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-05-14, 03:35 PM
JR23 JR23 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualTune View Post
so I'll be waiting for Broadwell Extreme in a year or so? Well sounds like Dual Xeon might be the better option for Cores/$$$. Thanks for spelling it out for me JR!
before my 4770 I had a 930, such a pleasant upgrade
I am assuming that Broadwell-E will support DDR4 then, or is that still stuck on DDR3?
As much as I like the looks of the LED Ram, 400 EUR is a lot of money just for looks. I think I will stick with my current setup and focus on the GPU next. I feel like I am making a mistake by upgrading everything at once. I also really need to fix my cable management - no LEDs in the world can distract from that
I'm not sure a pair of Xeon's is the best way to go but certainly sticking with your DDR3 kit until DDR4 is better established sounds like a fantastic idea either Z107 or X99 (Broadwell-E) seem like a sensible place to start with a serious upgrade for those on Haswell or Ivy-E currently. And like you say cable management is far more significant aesthetically! Performance wise SSD's and GPU's seem like a better way to throw some money away.

Also I think it's pretty much confirmed there will be an 8-core Haswell-E chip so if you are after more cores, have way too much cash and are still a bit of a gamer then that's probably going to be better price/performance wise than Xeon's. We will have to wait and see but I do know it will be catastrophically expensive! As you try and move into the very top tier of parts you have to pay a wedge load more for a tiny bit of performance.

JR
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-05-14, 04:11 PM
virtualTune virtualTune is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 54
You'd be surprised how cheap 6 core xeons are right now. Of course they wouldn't be e7, only e5
Anyways, I am certainly after more cores, but I won't spend 1000+ on a CPU ^^
Somone still owes me a Titan Black, but it could take a couple monts before I get that. Might just buy a GTX780 with 6Gb.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-05-14, 04:13 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualTune View Post
You'd be surprised how cheap 6 core xeons are right now. Of course they wouldn't be e7, only e5
Anyways, I am certainly after more cores, but I won't spend 1000+ on a CPU ^^
Somone still owes me a Titan Black, but it could take a couple monts before I get that. Might just buy a GTX780 with 6Gb.
Someone "Owes" you a Titan Black ? sounds interesting lol
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-05-14, 04:15 PM
JR23 JR23 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3,215
What's the point in getting one 6GB 780? If you were going to get 3 then I understand but 2 isn't really enough graphical power to run into memory limits. If your just running one card then a 780Ti would make the most sense really, or you know free Titan black I wouldn't complain!

JR
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-05-14, 04:41 PM
virtualTune virtualTune is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 54
Its a long story Dicehunter.
As far as VRam goes, more will allow me more particles in the live view when working in 3D.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.