Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
View Poll Results: LEt me know what you think I should do with this project
Build it! 23 74.19%
Build it but with some modifications to the design and styling 5 16.13%
Dump it, it's not worth it 3 9.68%
Voters: 31. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 05-11-12, 06:26 PM
I Hunta x's Avatar
I Hunta x I Hunta x is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,785
Nice idea over all, if you want more headroom on the power side of things have you thought about GTX670? not much of a performance loss and uses a good 50-60W less at load.

Also what keyboard are you using? (the glowy one)

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz - NH-D14 | Gigabyte x58a-oc | Corsair AX850 | CM Cosmos S
4x4Gb Samsung Green in 3+1 Tri Channel - 1900Mhz c10 1.3v | R9 290 | Samsung 840 Evo
Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro + V-Moda Boompro
-Need to fit-
Xspc Rasa | Phobya G-Changer 240 + 360 | Phobya dc12-400 | 7x Orange Xigmatek XLF 120mm
| Alphacool Copper fittings

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-11-12, 03:25 AM
Terodius Terodius is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by I Hunta x View Post
Nice idea over all, if you want more headroom on the power side of things have you thought about GTX670? not much of a performance loss and uses a good 50-60W less at load.

Also what keyboard are you using? (the glowy one)
After taking detailed measurements I found out that not even a small power supply for an HTPC will fit, so since I'm gonna have to use an external PSU anyways I don't see why I should compromise. And btw the keyboard in the background is a Corsair K90.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-11-12, 11:49 PM
I Hunta x's Avatar
I Hunta x I Hunta x is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,785
roughly what area do you have to work with? W/L/D wise
__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz - NH-D14 | Gigabyte x58a-oc | Corsair AX850 | CM Cosmos S
4x4Gb Samsung Green in 3+1 Tri Channel - 1900Mhz c10 1.3v | R9 290 | Samsung 840 Evo
Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro + V-Moda Boompro
-Need to fit-
Xspc Rasa | Phobya G-Changer 240 + 360 | Phobya dc12-400 | 7x Orange Xigmatek XLF 120mm
| Alphacool Copper fittings

Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-11-12, 05:59 PM
andrevautour's Avatar
andrevautour andrevautour is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post
I gamed for a little while on my 3770K, and I got playable frames on a lot of games. Not Crysis, obviously, but Portal, Borderlands, Left 4 Dead - all played nicely.
The new APUs from AMD would be even better, and I think it's a good option.
for Sheroo.

On the other hand, I see you considering a 680, so I guess onboard solution are out of the question completely. No matter what you choose, this should be great.
not playable framerates in crysis on a 3770k? that seems a bit odd to me. what graphics card do you have? i would imagine the 3770k paired with a good graphics card would be able to run crysis fairly well? crysis is very graphics-hungery from what i understand (as are most other games) so my guess is the 3770k with a different graphics card may run crysis better? anyway just a thought it didn't sound quite right right to me
__________________
build log | rig gallery |
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-11-12, 07:02 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrevautour View Post
not playable framerates in crysis on a 3770k? that seems a bit odd to me. what graphics card do you have? i would imagine the 3770k paired with a good graphics card would be able to run crysis fairly well? crysis is very graphics-hungery from what i understand (as are most other games) so my guess is the 3770k with a different graphics card may run crysis better? anyway just a thought it didn't sound quite right right to me
I meant running it off of Intel HD4000 alone, dude. Before I bought my graphics card, it's all I had to game on
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-11-12, 07:42 PM
andrevautour's Avatar
andrevautour andrevautour is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post
I meant running it off of Intel HD4000 alone, dude. Before I bought my graphics card, it's all I had to game on
oh okay, not used to people talking about the processor performance only, you know? he intel 4000 sounds like its very capable and probably a good option for people who are not using the system for gaming/just light gaming.
__________________
build log | rig gallery |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gaming, modding, retro, t1200, toshiba

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:35 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.