Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-09-19, 05:18 PM
ScottytooHotty ScottytooHotty is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 81
Issue running games

Hi All,

I have a werid issue when running games, it started yesterday but when I run games my gpu usage is all over the place causing games to stutter and have really unstable frame rates.

I have tried updating to latest driver and have rolled back to the driver begore that I knew worked fine and nothing has worked.

Not sure if this is relevant but it was fine the day before but when I loaded up GTAv yesterday I alt tabbed out and turned on discord streaming which is the first time I have used the software but I hadn't run any games before that yesterday so not sure if there was an issue beforehand.

Any help appreciated.

__________________
Current Setup: Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Window Edition - i7 8700K 4.7ghz - ASUS ROG Strix Z-370 H gaming mother board - NZXT Kraken x72 AIO - 16gb Corsair Vengence RGB 3000mhz - Asus Strix GTX1080 - 500gb 970 EVO M.2 - 250gb Sandisk M.2 - 250gb 850 EVO - 120gb Samsung 840 - 60GB OCZ Vertex - 1TB Seagate Barracuda - Corsair RM850x - Asus PG279 27" 165hz - Iiyama 27" 120hz - Corsair Harpoon mouse - Corsair K70 RGB Keyboard - Logitech Z-5500 speakers - Blue Snowball mic.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-09-19, 08:04 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,372
Since this appears to possibly be a conflict with discord, have you tried removing discord and starting a game?
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-09-19, 08:38 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,458
The Discord overlay would cause me a lot of issues disabling that in the settings might help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-09-19, 09:07 PM
ScottytooHotty ScottytooHotty is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 81
I have the overlay disabled anyway and have now uninstalled it just to test but that didn't change anything, I didn't think it was discord but mentioned it as I know the streaming part of discord is new and wondered if anyone had heard of any issues
__________________
Current Setup: Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Window Edition - i7 8700K 4.7ghz - ASUS ROG Strix Z-370 H gaming mother board - NZXT Kraken x72 AIO - 16gb Corsair Vengence RGB 3000mhz - Asus Strix GTX1080 - 500gb 970 EVO M.2 - 250gb Sandisk M.2 - 250gb 850 EVO - 120gb Samsung 840 - 60GB OCZ Vertex - 1TB Seagate Barracuda - Corsair RM850x - Asus PG279 27" 165hz - Iiyama 27" 120hz - Corsair Harpoon mouse - Corsair K70 RGB Keyboard - Logitech Z-5500 speakers - Blue Snowball mic.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-09-19, 09:20 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,897
There are so many background apps on PC now it's a joke. I could not run Borderlands 2 because of a combination of MSI AB and my mouse pad software. Ended up taking me four hours to figure it out.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-09-19, 09:29 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,295
If you are streaming, did you try it with OBS/Xsplit and twitch? Are you getting the same problems? Could just be discord streaming services are not entirely bug-free yet.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-09-19, 09:34 PM
ScottytooHotty ScottytooHotty is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 81
As I said I don't think it is discord as I have only tried streaming once with it but i'm not sure if the issue arose before I tried it.. also I have now completely uninstalled discord and am still getting the same issue.
__________________
Current Setup: Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Window Edition - i7 8700K 4.7ghz - ASUS ROG Strix Z-370 H gaming mother board - NZXT Kraken x72 AIO - 16gb Corsair Vengence RGB 3000mhz - Asus Strix GTX1080 - 500gb 970 EVO M.2 - 250gb Sandisk M.2 - 250gb 850 EVO - 120gb Samsung 840 - 60GB OCZ Vertex - 1TB Seagate Barracuda - Corsair RM850x - Asus PG279 27" 165hz - Iiyama 27" 120hz - Corsair Harpoon mouse - Corsair K70 RGB Keyboard - Logitech Z-5500 speakers - Blue Snowball mic.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-09-19, 09:48 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,897
Go to Task Manager and just start disabling one app at a time. That's about all you can do.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-09-19, 09:28 AM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,458
Well if we go back to the original issue with a clear mind
Quote:
it started yesterday but when I run games my gpu usage is all over the place causing games to stutter and have really unstable frame rates.
Can we rule out hardware as an issue? Might be worth checking the voltages reported to your motherboard from your PSU (12v/5v/3.3v) are within spec, maybe it's also CPU throttling causing your GPU to choke? Which could be caused by maybe an OC going a bit off, of course temps is one I'm sure you've checked already but could be that too if not, or maybe the OC or power settings on your GPU if any, possible a driver update resetting something.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17-09-19, 07:21 PM
ScottytooHotty ScottytooHotty is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrech View Post
Well if we go back to the original issue with a clear mind Can we rule out hardware as an issue? Might be worth checking the voltages reported to your motherboard from your PSU (12v/5v/3.3v) are within spec, maybe it's also CPU throttling causing your GPU to choke? Which could be caused by maybe an OC going a bit off, of course temps is one I'm sure you've checked already but could be that too if not, or maybe the OC or power settings on your GPU if any, possible a driver update resetting something.
I'm not sure if its hardware or not TBH, I have noticed that my CPU seems to be constantly jammed at max frequency even though it's just sitting here idling, with my OC on it was constantly at 4.7ghz on all cores and now I have update the bios an my OC is off t's just sat at 4.3ghz on all cores.

I give up though I have spent enough time trying to find out whats wrong.. I'm gonna rebuild it and hope for the best.
__________________
Current Setup: Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Window Edition - i7 8700K 4.7ghz - ASUS ROG Strix Z-370 H gaming mother board - NZXT Kraken x72 AIO - 16gb Corsair Vengence RGB 3000mhz - Asus Strix GTX1080 - 500gb 970 EVO M.2 - 250gb Sandisk M.2 - 250gb 850 EVO - 120gb Samsung 840 - 60GB OCZ Vertex - 1TB Seagate Barracuda - Corsair RM850x - Asus PG279 27" 165hz - Iiyama 27" 120hz - Corsair Harpoon mouse - Corsair K70 RGB Keyboard - Logitech Z-5500 speakers - Blue Snowball mic.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:51 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.