Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-08-19, 09:30 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,029
Intel's desktop-grade Comet Lake-S CPUs to ship with 10 cores on a new socket

More cores, a higher TDP and a new socket.



Read more about Intel's desktop-grade Comet Lake-S series processors.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-08-19, 12:31 PM
cooperman's Avatar
cooperman cooperman is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK/west-mids
Posts: 763
14nm+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ is here!
__________________
i5 4690-Gigabyte Z97P-D3-16Gbs 1866Mhz Kinston HyperX Fury Black-Asus GTX 980 Corsair h80i-sandisk 256gb ultra plus-250gb Intel SSD-WD Blue 500gb-Seasonic M12-620w-Cooler master haf xb.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-08-19, 03:59 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,372
It is comical how they keep banging this out, and on yet another socket whilst the competition give us real improvements on all levels with the same socket.
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-08-19, 04:52 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,295
Well I find it funny that Intel still has better single thread performance at 14nm vs 7nm. Sure they lose multi threads but for gamers Intel is still king...

Once they get to 10nm AMD are probably screwed on both fronts tbh.

Until then it's crappy of Intel to keep releasing new sockets on the same manufacturing process
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-08-19, 05:00 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,458
With this area between 14nm and EUV nodes each node improvement will inherently make a given clock speed harder to achieve, AMD have had to use a sea of power gating just to stick around the same ballpark to a low-power, low-clock optimised 14nm node with TSMC 7nm. It's why Intel's Ice Lake 10nm parts can't break 4.1Ghz, even in TDP's/SKUs where their old 14nm parts are boosting to 5Ghz.

Until Intel has their 7nm EUV they're in a bit of a wasteland, hence why 10nm isn't and can't(With the fab allocation now left for it) go to anything we'd really consider mass production on Intel's scale of things and will almost certainly be skipped for performance desktop. They'll probably need to use 7nm+ or ++ to get an arch as wide and large as Ice Lake(Or derivatives) to clock speeds or core counts that are even within 15% of Coffee Lake atm(Unless they are finally ready with at least one of their multi-chip-module technologies anyway), it looks like their first round of 7nm will all get tested out with GPUs.

(But even with all of this we're still only talking about AMD potentially fully catching up with the Skylake arch in single threaded performance with Zen3 in that time, potentially if Intel could clock an Ice Lake like arch to 5Ghz on 2022's 7nm+ they'd fly right past them again unless AMD has already committed to going much wider with upcoming archs)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-08-19, 08:55 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,456
Intel don't seem to have the mental capability to learn, AMD are offering backwards compatibility as far back as their 1st gen Ryzen chipset for Ryzen 3000, That is a HUGE selling point and a reason, With the amazing performance, Why AMD are rapidly gaining market share.
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-08-19, 09:22 PM
WillSK's Avatar
WillSK WillSK is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK
Posts: 2,235
Send a message via Skype™ to WillSK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Intel don't seem to have the mental capability to learn, AMD are offering backwards compatibility as far back as their 1st gen Ryzen chipset for Ryzen 3000, That is a HUGE selling point and a reason, With the amazing performance, Why AMD are rapidly gaining market share.
Amen! It's the primary reason i've now gone AMD. I'm happy to lose a few frames in the name of better business practises and longer compatibility if I invest in a nice board
__________________
My Rig : Fractal S2 Case, ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero, Ryzen 3800X, Corsair H115i Platinum, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 GAMING X TRIO, 32 Gb Team Pro Dark RAM 3200Mhz, Samsung 970 EVO SSD, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB SSD, Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:55 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.