Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 18-12-17, 11:11 AM
Warchild Warchild is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,386
I honestly dont see why you cant clock at 4.5 (at most) and get the same kind of results.
4.4 is far, FAR more stable. You are limited by the chip capabilities. If you get unlucky then 5.0 is just not in scope at all.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18-12-17, 11:23 AM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,477
Honestly a chip which is borderline stable at 5.0 should do 4.8 or 4.9 quite easily, so why not aim a little higher when we're at oc3d of all places. :P
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18-12-17, 12:17 PM
Warchild Warchild is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
Honestly a chip which is borderline stable at 5.0 should do 4.8 or 4.9 quite easily, so why not aim a little higher when we're at oc3d of all places. :P
Because he wants to stream and there is nothing more embarassing that a blue screen of death when streaming. otherwise I'd say could go balls to the wall even if there is no significant gain at 5.0.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18-12-17, 12:34 PM
7UpDiet 7UpDiet is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
thanks for the feedback guys..

tbh i want the max out of my rig. i'm gonna try to increase my voltage up to 1.35 at max

if i dont get result , i will drop down to either 4.9 or 4.8 i havent decided yet

but i'm not sure what voltage to start with when testing 4.9 or 4.8
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18-12-17, 12:54 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,477
Don't do 1.35 if lower voltage already causes thermal issues... Sometimes you have to settle with lower clocks.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 18-12-17, 01:09 PM
Warchild Warchild is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7UpDiet View Post
thanks for the feedback guys..

tbh i want the max out of my rig. i'm gonna try to increase my voltage up to 1.35 at max

if i dont get result , i will drop down to either 4.9 or 4.8 i havent decided yet

but i'm not sure what voltage to start with when testing 4.9 or 4.8
1.35V may be adequate but it will degrade the life of your CPU. Not to mention the heat you will produce will rise.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18-12-17, 01:20 PM
7UpDiet 7UpDiet is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
1.35V may be adequate but it will degrade the life of your CPU. Not to mention the heat you will produce will rise.
Hhmm i will try to go up to 1.3v and do a test you know?

just to see how it goes because i have brand new setup so if there is heating issue with my corsair h100i v2. i would like to know about it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18-12-17, 03:15 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,477
Stress test 4.9 at 1.27v, if that doesn't work do 4.8 at 1.27v.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 18-12-17, 05:10 PM
7UpDiet 7UpDiet is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
guys, while using prime95

which stress test to go for?

there are three options and i know the difference between them (less ram stress,more cpu...etc)

im asking which one will be good for my stress test?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 18-12-17, 07:04 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,211
If you are OC'ing the CPU then choose the test that stresses the CPU.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.