Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 24-02-14, 10:49 AM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,138
Is it definitely the for the CPU, usually 6+2 is for the PCI-E. The CPU one is usually 2x4pin or 1x8pin.

What PSU do you have? Can you post the make and model.

__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24-02-14, 10:53 AM
mallarmist mallarmist is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
https://www.komplett.no/cooler-maste...00w-psu/794495 here it is
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24-02-14, 10:55 AM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,138
The CPU 4+4pin in the pic for the cables in that link is the one that should be in your CPU power connector.
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24-02-14, 10:57 AM
mallarmist mallarmist is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
they both look the same so i cant figure out which is what

they are all 6x2
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24-02-14, 11:00 AM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,138
The 6+2 is for your GPU



And the 4+4pin is for your CPU

__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 24-02-14, 11:05 AM
mallarmist mallarmist is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
alright i will double check

"facepalm" i found the 4x2 lol i didnt even know it was there i plugged it in and my pc still reboot. can the motherboard die from lack of power or something?

since i was using the 6x2 pci cable can that be the reason i got alot of bsod?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 24-02-14, 11:18 AM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,138
The 6+2 pin was most likely the reason for the BSODs, it wouldn't have been getting enough power to the CPU.

You could of damaged your PSU or motherboard by using the wrong connectors.
It could be a number of things causing it not to boot but i'm not sure which one it could be.

It could be anyone of these

Faulty CPU
Faulty RAM
Faulty Motherboard
Faulty PSU
Bent pins on the CPU socket
Damage caused by using the wrong connectors to the motherboard, PSU or CPU
Or some other random problem
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 24-02-14, 11:22 AM
mallarmist mallarmist is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
well thank you for helping me find the cpu cable, i will take everything apart and put it back together and try starting it up if not i will guy new motherboard and ram
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 24-02-14, 11:23 AM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,138
No probs, post back if you get it working
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 24-02-14, 04:42 PM
mallarmist mallarmist is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
i really hope i don't because i bougth motherboard and ram like 1 week ago

nope, it just doesnt wanna turn on guess it's time to get new ram/motherboard

i went to a friend and got his ram, and still my computer reboots :s wtf is wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
motherboard, ram

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:50 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.