Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-07-19, 12:52 PM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 272
general question about PSU cables

i have five full modular EVGA power supplies.
one of them needs to be replaced under warranty.


now i wonder if i can use the cables that came with the EVGA for a different brand of PSU.

until the replacement arrives. i don´t want to tear my cable routing apart.

the cables fit but i wonder about the pin layout on the PSU side.






the mainboard side of the cables is standardized.
but i wonder if the PSU side is also standardized.


i mean it would be possible for every PSU brand to change the pin layout on the PSU side.


so my question is can i use the cables from on modular PSU with any other modular PSU brand?

__________________
2x TR 2950, 2x 2700x, 1x 3700x, 1x 3900x
2x Eizo CG 2730 1x Eizo CS 2730
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-07-19, 12:57 PM
tgrech tgrech is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,537
Nah yeah they're not standardised, some might be interchangeable, some brands might use a common OEM, but not every one does so you'll want to have a look at the specific brands(and models if it's a brand that uses parts from lots of OEMs across lines) you're mixing online first, if you have a multimeter at hand you could also do some continuity checks to see where each wires goes if you can't find anything online.

Edit- This might be useful


Edit2: However from experience if you're looking to ghetto rig something on the cheap, with unsleaved cables you can easily pull the pins out the connectors with some bullnose tweezers(Squeeze clips from inside) and rearrange the wires as desired(Once you know can work out how things should be with a multimeter and some notes(or maybe online diagrams are available for some types)) since they're all usually the box-type molex connectors.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-07-19, 01:01 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,357
It's a risky thing to do. Even with the same brand of PSU cables can change. Some cables are interchangeable, assuming the PSU makers use the same OEMs and cable designs, but that is never a guarantee.

I wouldn't try it. In general, modular PSU cables are not interchangeable.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-07-19, 01:02 PM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 272
thanks! that´s helpful.
__________________
2x TR 2950, 2x 2700x, 1x 3700x, 1x 3900x
2x Eizo CG 2730 1x Eizo CS 2730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.