Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 26-07-19, 01:28 PM
p1987 p1987 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South Wales, Port Talbot
Posts: 111
GPU Super Sampling (Nvidia)

Hi,

I would like to increase the screen resolution/sharpness by using the best form of sampling for BFV.

I would like to stop the gaming being blurry using Ray Tracing. I have used Nvidia Inspector but I don't think this will change the sharpness of RT/DLSS.

I have gone beyond native resolution on my monitor but long term this will damage it and frames are dropped considerably.


Any suggestions ?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-07-19, 02:47 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,478
Not a suggestion, but:
Quote:
I have gone beyond native resolution on my monitor but long term this will damage it
Is bollocks. It's fine.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-07-19, 03:01 PM
p1987 p1987 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South Wales, Port Talbot
Posts: 111
Hi,

Thanks. Correction; surely this will reduce the life of the monitor ?
__________________
Ryzen 7 2700x 4.1ghz boost - Gigabyte X470 Ultra gaming Gigabyte 2080 Aorus (1940 -14900) - XFX 750w True Power PSU - 16GB Corsair 'RGB' Vengance RAM 3200mhz
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-07-19, 03:07 PM
tgrech tgrech is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,405
Unless you're using a multiscan CRT monitor then all that's happening is your GPU(Or display) is doing a quick downsample from a higher resolution to your monitors physical output resolution. This acts as a natural(But relatively expensive) form of anti-aliasing with a couple of other benefits but of course the final resolution of your monitor(How many little dots/lights makes up the image) remains the same and it can't do any damage.

Many monitors to have a built in sharpness filter in their settings, though it might not look amazing it might be useful for a touch up.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-07-19, 03:19 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by p1987 View Post
Hi,

Thanks. Correction; surely this will reduce the life of the monitor ?

No, It has no effect on the monitor, Whoever told you that has no idea what they're talking about.
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - GTX 1080 Ti FE @ 2000/6000 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-07-19, 10:57 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,809
Yeah, nah, that's BS. I've been using DSR and VSR (AMD) for years now. I even ran it on a very old Apple Cinema display for almost a year with no ill effect.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.