Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 24-11-12, 12:59 AM
Lynx's Avatar
Lynx Lynx is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by SavageCupcake View Post
I was only saying. If your on such a power saving drive then surely thats a better idea?
I see what you mean but the reason that I prioritize power savings is BECAUSE I have it on 24/7

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 24-11-12, 11:32 AM
rossi94's Avatar
rossi94 rossi94 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Stuttgart - Germany
Posts: 586
Send a message via Skype™ to rossi94
It's very simple - not possible. Gaming on this resultion is not possible with a 200 pound cars.
__________________


Happy X-Mas
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 25-11-12, 12:29 AM
CPMFW's Avatar
CPMFW CPMFW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Colchester, UK
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossi94 View Post
It's very simple - not possible. Gaming on this resultion is not possible with a 200 pound cars.
pretty much what i would say
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 25-11-12, 01:02 AM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
I'd say you'd get pretty close to gaming on a single card at that res.

My single 670 works absolutely fine with triple screens at 5760x1080 without an overclock.

Maybe not max settings on everything - but he could still get comfortable frame rates I think.

As for the AMD vs nvidia for multiple screens....
I personally have found nvidia far easier to work with. AMD still requires an active display port adapter on their cards which costs an additional 70/80 quid. Nvidia on the other hand just allows screens to be plugged in straight to the card without any additional adapters, so going nvidia saves a fair bit of money there.

It depends on the user though...
I'm personally absolutely fine with dropping settings down to medium or high if I have to. I can't even tell the difference in all honesty. I don't let my framerates drop below 45ish anyway and pretty much every game I can max out settings and play fine. AC3 for example - highest settings all round across triple screens and there's no lag whatsoever.

I say get a single card, as good as you can afford and see how it goes. If you think it's a problem then you can always drop the settings temporarily until you can afford a better card, or a second card for SLI.
Don't listen to people who haven't tried running triple screens on a single card because they can only speculate, and it's incredibly rare you'll find anyone else out there trying to run your specific resolution with your specific card.
Just get a 660/660ti if you can afford it and see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 25-11-12, 10:41 AM
rossi94's Avatar
rossi94 rossi94 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Stuttgart - Germany
Posts: 586
Send a message via Skype™ to rossi94
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
I'd say you'd get pretty close to gaming on a single card at that res.

My single 670 works absolutely fine with triple screens at 5760x1080 without an overclock.

Maybe not max settings on everything - but he could still get comfortable frame rates I think.

As for the AMD vs nvidia for multiple screens....
I personally have found nvidia far easier to work with. AMD still requires an active display port adapter on their cards which costs an additional 70/80 quid. Nvidia on the other hand just allows screens to be plugged in straight to the card without any additional adapters, so going nvidia saves a fair bit of money there.

It depends on the user though...
I'm personally absolutely fine with dropping settings down to medium or high if I have to. I can't even tell the difference in all honesty. I don't let my framerates drop below 45ish anyway and pretty much every game I can max out settings and play fine. AC3 for example - highest settings all round across triple screens and there's no lag whatsoever.

I say get a single card, as good as you can afford and see how it goes. If you think it's a problem then you can always drop the settings temporarily until you can afford a better card, or a second card for SLI.
Don't listen to people who haven't tried running triple screens on a single card because they can only speculate, and it's incredibly rare you'll find anyone else out there trying to run your specific resolution with your specific card.
Just get a 660/660ti if you can afford it and see how it goes.
But a 670 is about > 300 bucks and the difference to a 660 is huge
__________________


Happy X-Mas
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 25-11-12, 10:52 AM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossi94 View Post
But a 670 is about > 300 bucks and the difference to a 660 is huge
I'm running 3x 1080p screens, he's running at quite a lower res. That may make up for the difference in GPU power - but again, nobody can tell unless they've actually tried with his specific config.

My point still stands however - if he bought a single 660, he can still try it out. The screens are gunna run fine in windows, so he can use 3 still, and if he does need to, he can always turn down the settings in games, or even switch to 1 screen if need be until he can afford something more powerful, or SLI.

I feel too many people rely on benchmarks these days, and forget that turning settings down actually makes a big difference.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 25-11-12, 10:55 AM
Lynx's Avatar
Lynx Lynx is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 1,115
Thanks for all your help but I will be going with the "3GB XFX Radeon HD 7950 Double D, 5000MHz GDDR5, GPU 800MHz, DVI/DVI/HDMI/mDP+Free Games" as I already have adapters, the zero power state when monitor is switched off and ofc the free games
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 25-11-12, 10:57 AM
rossi94's Avatar
rossi94 rossi94 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Stuttgart - Germany
Posts: 586
Send a message via Skype™ to rossi94
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
I'm running 3x 1080p screens, he's running at quite a lower res. That may make up for the difference in GPU power - but again, nobody can tell unless they've actually tried with his specific config.

My point still stands however - if he bought a single 660, he can still try it out. The screens are gunna run fine in windows, so he can use 3 still, and if he does need to, he can always turn down the settings in games, or even switch to 1 screen if need be until he can afford something more powerful, or SLI.

I feel too many people rely on benchmarks these days, and forget that turning settings down actually makes a big difference.
I'm using a highend overclocked 670 and play on 1920 x 1080 with around ~70 FPS BF3 on max settings, so don't tell me can play with a much worse card on a much higher resulution and still keep the fps up.
__________________


Happy X-Mas
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 25-11-12, 11:52 AM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossi94 View Post
I'm using a highend overclocked 670 and play on 1920 x 1080 with around ~70 FPS BF3 on max settings, so don't tell me can play with a much worse card on a much higher resulution and still keep the fps up.
...and I have a single 670 at 5760x1080. I do know how much triple screens require here...

I'm not saying he'll max out framerates at max settings or anything.

Maybe if you actually read what I've said, you'll see I've said if he drops the settings to high or medium, he should be able to play the game comfortably at high framerates.

My single 670, at 5760x1080 (so a higher resolution than he's running) runs BF3 at medium settings without framerates dropping below 60.

Stop trying to tell me I'm wrong when I run the setup he's wanting to run.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 25-11-12, 12:32 PM
iBeInspire iBeInspire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The Dirty North of London
Posts: 1,314
It's also kinda about balancing certain settings...
If you can live without AA, then definitely disable it since I'm pretty sure it has a massive impact across 3 screens...
Leave the FXAA all the way up, with shadows on med and rest on high, and you should get decent frames...
I personally hate using setting ''presets'' since they start to prioritize AA too soon...
__________________
/|i5 4690k @4.6Ghz @1.315v /|\ Asus Z97-AR /|\ 8Gb G.Skill RipjawsX /|\ Asus GTX970 Strix |\
/|TX550m /|\ Samsung 840 Pro |\
/|Asus Essence STU /|\ Hifiman HE-400S /|\ AKG K551|\
[OFFICIAL] OC3D Overclockers Club Member [#025]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.