Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Customer Care Forums > MSI UK Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 28-01-16, 09:42 AM
MSIRawZ's Avatar
MSIRawZ MSIRawZ is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Posts: 2,319
Send a message via MSN to MSIRawZ Send a message via Skype™ to MSIRawZ
So as I understand it now no matter which card you use in single VGA usage you don't get any errors, but when using two in SLI you get BSOD and lock-ups?

If that's the case it could mean that:
a.) NV driver issue
b.) 2nd PCI-e x16 slot is at fault on the motherboard
c.) Not enough power is getting to the 2nd VGA from the PCI-Express slot (may be linked to option b. above)
d.) 1st VGA card in SLI mode is getting too hot (have you checked temps on it?)

Have you tried completely nuking all drivers from Windows? To do this download & install DDU here: http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/...-download.html

Once that's done, install the latest NV drivers available to you again. If that doesn't fix the issue then it may be motherboard related.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28-01-16, 02:08 PM
Chris230291 Chris230291 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSIRawZ View Post
So as I understand it now no matter which card you use in single VGA usage you don't get any errors, but when using two in SLI you get BSOD and lock-ups?

If that's the case it could mean that:
a.) NV driver issue
b.) 2nd PCI-e x16 slot is at fault on the motherboard
c.) Not enough power is getting to the 2nd VGA from the PCI-Express slot (may be linked to option b. above)
d.) 1st VGA card in SLI mode is getting too hot (have you checked temps on it?)

Have you tried completely nuking all drivers from Windows? To do this download & install DDU here: http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/...-download.html

Once that's done, install the latest NV drivers available to you again. If that doesn't fix the issue then it may be motherboard related.
While I guess driver issues are still plausible, I doubt it as I've already used DDU, tried multiple NV drivers and even done a fresh install of Windows.

The second PCI slot defiantly works to some extent because I can run one card (other removed) in it problem free. I have no idea if it's getting enough power though. Is there any way to check that?

Temps seem fine. In furmark they both get to 79 then down clock to keep within thermal limit.

If there are any tests I can do I will go ahead and try them.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28-01-16, 02:18 PM
MSIRawZ's Avatar
MSIRawZ MSIRawZ is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Posts: 2,319
Send a message via MSN to MSIRawZ Send a message via Skype™ to MSIRawZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris230291 View Post
While I guess driver issues are still plausible, I doubt it as I've already used DDU, tried multiple NV drivers and even done a fresh install of Windows.

The second PCI slot defiantly works to some extent because I can run one card (other removed) in it problem free. I have no idea if it's getting enough power though. Is there any way to check that?

Temps seem fine. In furmark they both get to 79 then down clock to keep within thermal limit.

If there are any tests I can do I will go ahead and try them.
Thanks for confirming.

Hard to say what else really. It could be a dodgy SLI finger on one of those cards that messing up the SLI config. You've already tried another bridge so it could be the finger instead.

It may also be that not enough bandwidth is getting to the 2nd card when in SLI via the PCI-Express slot. I'm sure some software can check this but it may be an intermittent power loss when it happens so I don't think software could check this.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28-01-16, 04:03 PM
Chris230291 Chris230291 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSIRawZ View Post
Thanks for confirming.

Hard to say what else really. It could be a dodgy SLI finger on one of those cards that messing up the SLI config. You've already tried another bridge so it could be the finger instead.

It may also be that not enough bandwidth is getting to the 2nd card when in SLI via the PCI-Express slot. I'm sure some software can check this but it may be an intermittent power loss when it happens so I don't think software could check this.
Does it matter which finger I use with the SLI bridge? I was always using the one closest to the PCI bracket. Would using the inner one work too?

I don't have another board so I cant test if the board is at fault. It doesn't have any error codes on the LED read out, but I don't know if that means it's problem free or not.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28-01-16, 06:07 PM
MSIRawZ's Avatar
MSIRawZ MSIRawZ is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Posts: 2,319
Send a message via MSN to MSIRawZ Send a message via Skype™ to MSIRawZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris230291 View Post
Does it matter which finger I use with the SLI bridge? I was always using the one closest to the PCI bracket. Would using the inner one work too?

I don't have another board so I cant test if the board is at fault. It doesn't have any error codes on the LED read out, but I don't know if that means it's problem free or not.
I doubt the Debug LED on that board would show that something was up with the 2nd PCI-E.

Regarding the fingers - You know what, I don't know! Only one way to find out?..
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-02-16, 07:45 PM
Chris230291 Chris230291 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 702
Ok well after some more poking around I have discovered that running a more intensive game with only the second card installed causes my PC to crash. So I guess the second card is the problem? Swapping to the 1st card in the same PCI slot the game runs sweet. Could this be coincidence? This is on yet another fresh install of Windows 10.

I started to believe it could be a power/PSU issue as the problems started shortly after we were having severe power problems in the area (power quickly switching on and off and constant power cuts). The PC is plugged into a surge protected socket and I have a decent PSU, so i'd assume those 2 things would protect my hardware from any problems that could be caused by this?

Cheers,
Chris.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.