Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics - Other
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-08-16, 03:04 PM
RichardB RichardB is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London, England
Posts: 9
Problems After Purchasing the GTX 1060

I thought I should get the much needed upgrade from an MSI GTX 570 to the Zotac 1060 AMP! for my gaming and video editing needs. There were no issues before, everything just ran slower than I wanted.

Since installing the 1060 (and updating to latest driver) my games sporadically crash, ranging from 15 minutes to a few hours of gameplay before freezing up. More worryingly is the fact that even with settings enabled, my Sony Vegas 12 does not want to use GPU acceleration when rendering and more often than not, halts rendering yet the estimated time countdown continues at a linear rate and does nothing when the counter reaches 0.

I've looked around and saw that installing the Cuda Toolkit might do the trick but no luck. In fact there was a warning saying "The graphics driver could not find compatible graphics hardware...". Is there anything else that I can do or is it a matter of waiting for Nvidia to pull their fingers out their behinds and update the drivers or the same with Sony and patching Vegas?




Hardware Spec
Mobo: ASUS P8Z68-V Z68
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K O/C 4.2HGz
GPU: Zotac GTX 1060 AMP!
RAM: Kingston HyperX Genesis (1600MHz)
PSU: Corsair RM650
HDD: Seagate 2TB | Toshiba 4TB
SSD: Crucial 240GB

OS: Windows & SP1 x64

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-16, 03:24 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,740
Check for bios updates on your motherboard. That's usually where I would start.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-08-16, 03:37 PM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is offline
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,339
Did you do a driver clean re-install using DDU? Sometimes there are leftovers that mess up the newer driver and cause crashes https://www.guru3d.com/files-details...-download.html
donwload it run it and click at Run and Restart then install the nvidia drivers
__________________

--------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Theory is when you have the "know how" but nothing works.
Practice is when everything works but no one knows why.
In our lab, theory and practice are combined: Nothing works and no one knows why
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-08-16, 04:15 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelosouvlakia View Post
Did you do a driver clean re-install using DDU? Sometimes there are leftovers that mess up the newer driver and cause crashes https://www.guru3d.com/files-details...-download.html
donwload it run it and click at Run and Restart then install the nvidia drivers
Agree, this should be the first anyone does when changing cards
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-08-16, 05:15 PM
RichardB RichardB is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London, England
Posts: 9
Ahh yes, completely forgot to mention that I did use DDU for a clean reinstall. I also reinstalled Vegas and even Windows 7 as well. Low expectations on OS reinstall but I'd try most things at the moment.

I know that motherboard Bios update if done wrong, can brick the mobo. Having never done so before, is it easy to brick and would it be worth trying out?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-08-16, 05:38 PM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is offline
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardB View Post
Ahh yes, completely forgot to mention that I did use DDU for a clean reinstall. I also reinstalled Vegas and even Windows 7 as well. Low expectations on OS reinstall but I'd try most things at the moment.

I know that motherboard Bios update if done wrong, can brick the mobo. Having never done so before, is it easy to brick and would it be worth trying out?

It's worth doing it if something isn't working properly, so yes.
Also most motherboard manufacturers have failsafes to ensure that you are going to install the correct bios on the correct mobo. Just make sure you read your motherboard's manual thorougly on the updating the bios chapter
__________________

--------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Theory is when you have the "know how" but nothing works.
Practice is when everything works but no one knows why.
In our lab, theory and practice are combined: Nothing works and no one knows why
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-08-16, 05:45 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,327
done many bios updates over the years never had any issues, as already said just follow the instructions for your board
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-08-16, 11:24 PM
Muha Muha is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Win 10 need updates

Once i update my win 10 to the newer build version...all the problem is gone
Try to update your win10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.