Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > Games
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 30-09-13, 12:56 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
As far as I'm aware, even in 64Bit windows there's a memory cap in place for compatibility, is this strictly only for 32Bit applications or is it for both?
I'm quite sure it is only for 32 bit applications only.ARMA 3 appears to hit a limit of 4gb (another 32 bit application, the infamously inoptimised APB reloaded is a 32 bit app and loves to use 4gb ram)for me and I'm sure there is a way that you can get 32bit applications to use 4GB ram,even when using it as intensively as I can (aka running a non dedicated server with the gamemode "Dynamic Zombie Sandbox" via LAN for 7 people) it never goes past 4gb, the dedicated server can use more I believe though. Star citizen has no issues with using more ram than I've seen a game use before (6GB at one point!)and I believe it is a 64bit app.

__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30-09-13, 12:57 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,669
I will try to buy the constellation with ingame money by exploring and doing cargo trades, as i have the aurora this will take a long time but it could be a great deal of fun anyway, i dont know how much i will play on the persistant world, as you can host your own servers with mods as well.

Sub, here is a page with info on memory limits with windows.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.85%29.aspx
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30-09-13, 12:58 PM
ShaunB-91 ShaunB-91 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southport
Posts: 4,907
Don't know much about this game, I just went on the website and it nearly killed works laptop. Got stuck for about five minutes...powerful laptop this is you see.
__________________
All Apple Everything
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30-09-13, 01:02 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunB-91 View Post
Don't know much about this game, I just went on the website and it nearly killed works laptop. Got stuck for about five minutes...powerful laptop this is you see.
That's odd, I'm on my trusty but Ancient Lenovo Think pad x61s (3gb ram, core 2 duo @1.6) and it copes fine.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30-09-13, 01:05 PM
ShaunB-91 ShaunB-91 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southport
Posts: 4,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
That's odd, I'm on my trusty but Ancient Lenovo Think pad x61s (3gb ram, core 2 duo @1.6) and it copes fine.
That's a monster compared to this, Centrino Duo 1.66GHz, 512MB RAM. XP, and Dell...

It can't do anything, once you have three webpages open...your pretty much buggered.

I'll have a look at the game when I get home though, I'm intersted to see what it's all about with everyone putting their money into it.
__________________
All Apple Everything
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 30-09-13, 01:08 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark NighT View Post
Sub, here is a page with info on memory limits with windows.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.85%29.aspx
I know about these mate, it's the *actual* limits in place in the software more so than what you can install with each version. I.E there is a flag in windows to now allow more than 3.25GB to be addressed etc etc.

It's all quite complicated..

Edit: nevermind that's not the page I've previously read. Thanks that actually looks like it explains it.

My bad!
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 30-09-13, 01:31 PM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,757
as soon as i can replace my cpu/mainboard i should be pretty well prepared for SC, hugely anticipating the game. there are only two games on my anticipation list and SC is the only triple A title of those (the other one is reborn), so i am willing to spend quite some time and money on it.
well, till it releases my system will get a complete rehaul anyways.
not sure yet if i want to commit to a fleet of some sorts, i will mainly be into the exploration part of the game and eventually the business part, not really interested in dogfighting.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 30-09-13, 03:14 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekaX View Post
not sure yet if i want to commit to a fleet of some sorts, i will mainly be into the exploration part of the game and eventually the business part, not really interested in dogfighting.
Fair dos, as discussed previously you're like me in that aspect :P. The reason why I suggested as casual fleet is that we could all work together to benefit us all. For example I'd happily shift stuff found/ "aquired" on behalf of someone in the fleet for a fee of course. Similarly I would happily help out in fights, you know, spoils of war and stuff ;D.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 30-09-13, 03:21 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,669
I like the sound of a casual fleet, just people that want to play whatever they want but sometimes come together to do stuff, each driven by their own ambitions within the game but not required to do anything within the fleet. Yup sounds perfect for me.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 30-09-13, 03:27 PM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark NighT View Post
I like the sound of a casual fleet, just people that want to play whatever they want but sometimes come together to do stuff, each driven by their own ambitions within the game but not required to do anything within the fleet. Yup sounds perfect for me.
yea i can deal with that. a conditionless fleet is fine with me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
citizen, oc3d, star

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.