Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-04-19, 06:50 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 15,696
ASUS reveals which AM4 motherboards will support "Next-Generation Ryzen"

Will A-series boards not support Zen 2?



Read more about ASUS' next-generation Ryzen motherboard support.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-04-19, 06:59 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,129
I mean it's not a big deal really. It's not like you'd get the most out of it with that chipset as those boards are barebones and wouldn't overclock great anyway since I believe virtually all 320 boards lack heatsinks.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-04-19, 12:33 PM
Darkdayzzz Darkdayzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
I mean it's not a big deal really. It's not like you'd get the most out of it with that chipset as those boards are barebones and wouldn't overclock great anyway since I believe virtually all 320 boards lack heatsinks.
This is basically the right logic. The biggest problem I have with the old 320 boards is that they cost around $60 or so... a b350 costs $70-80.

It's just never made sense to go for the barebone setup when a better version of it exists within the b350, i don't know to me it felt like the 320 boards were a bit of time waster to even consider.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-19, 12:24 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,713
I'm not surprised my motherboard is on the list, but I still might upgrade. If ASUS can give me a fully functional BIOS for the new CPUs (which I doubt), I might stick with my current motherboard as it has most of what I need. It has very limited m.2 SSD support and I want to move to m.2 storage to clean up my system's cabling as much as possible, but that''s not a deal breaker.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-19, 04:42 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,291
Asus has not been fantastic for supporting their older stuff, so I suspect I'll be buying a Crosshair 8 to go along with my 7 and 6. I sure would love a drop in upgrade though, or two!
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 2700X / Asus CH7 Hero / 32GB TridentZ RGB 3200CL14 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: ADATA SX8200 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads / Barrow box reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-19, 06:33 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Asus has not been fantastic for supporting their older stuff, so I suspect I'll be buying a Crosshair 8 to go along with my 7 and 6. I sure would love a drop in upgrade though, or two!
When it comes to motherboards Asus just cannot be beat in anything really. Only boards I buy now.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-19, 08:44 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,748
It sounds to me like they're playing it safe. I was doubtful that low end cheap boards could have the VRMs to power 16 cores.

At least they're not risking it like some did with bulldozer, only to see low end boards catch fire because they were designed for quad core Phenom 2.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:11 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.