Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Cooling - Other
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-10-10, 04:45 AM
Arfur Schrunkunpecker Arfur Schrunkunpecker is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 91
Hi guys.

Where do you mount your temperature sensors inside your rig?

I'm on an Asus P6T Deluxe V2 with Noctua NH D-14, 5870 and 3 hard drives.

My case is an RV02 with air going straight up.


My fan controller is a Scythe Kaze Master Pro which has 6 temperature sensors. I've had this rig for a few months now but I've never bothered with the sensors until deciding to do it today.

Where do you recommend sticking them? (Be polite!)

Cheers.
__________________
The Computer Mouse
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-10-10, 09:31 AM
lasher lasher is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,898
When i was using my sensor fan controller, i put mine betewwn HDD's as i have fans aimed at those.

One on the back plates of my GPU's

One in dead air area of case to get ambient temps inside case.

Be careful otherwise you will have a spaghetti junction!

If your rolling with a D-14 temps on the CPU will be well under control.

Im guessing your controlling the bottom intake fans with the controller and the exhaust at the top.

Keep an eye on hardware temps with something like AIDA64 ( formerly Everest )
__________________
Biostar Tpower I55, I5 750 @ 4.2Ghz, 4GB Kingston DDR3, Custom water loop - Thermochill PA120.3, Heatkiller 3.0 LC, Laing DDC Ultra, XSPC res top, XSPC white hose, Asus 5870, Antec Quattro 1000, Lian Li PC-X2000, Win7 ultimate.



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-10-10, 11:13 AM
Arfur Schrunkunpecker Arfur Schrunkunpecker is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 91
Cheers Lasher.

To be honest, I'm not at all worried about the temps. In summer the NH D-14 works well enough. Now it's pretty cold here and the temps are 31 C each for MB and CPU (according to Bios/Asus) as I type this (also with Dreamweaver and Winamp running).

It will be simply to utilize the temp readouts. I decided to tidy up the wiring at the back, behind the motherboard, seeing as I came across some small cable ties I forgot I had. So I thought I'd do it all together.

With my old rig I didn't utilize the readouts on that for the 5 years I had it.

Thanks for your advice.
__________________
The Computer Mouse
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-10-10, 11:52 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,915
In the bin they make your rig look like spagetti junction. You dont need them
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-10-10, 12:09 PM
SnW's Avatar
SnW SnW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

In the bin they make your rig look like spagetti junction. You dont need them
Not to be a funny guy but exactly the same here ..

I use this (below),



on the other hand, i know my setup isn't getting to hot certainly not with the D14

still need one for my i5 750....
__________________
sig update v1.1.

The Iron is the best antidepressant I have ever found. There is no better way to fight weakness than with strength. Once the mind and body have been awakened to their true potential, it’s impossible to turn back.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-10-10, 01:52 PM
Arfur Schrunkunpecker Arfur Schrunkunpecker is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 91
Yep. Cheers guys. I was just coming back here to say that I'm not going to use them.

Even the very idea of sticking them on a surface makes me consider the tiny airflow restriction that that could cause. Sounds silly I suppose this post does now, but my apps tell me all the temps I need.

Funny five minutes (or couple of hours).

Cheers.
__________________
The Computer Mouse
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-10-10, 10:42 PM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Hwmon FTW. Things like this are really not worthwhile having any more. Fan controllers yes, but temp probes no.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-11-10, 10:33 PM
CRAZYCAP CRAZYCAP is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 315
PMSL TTL - 'In the bin'. you just put my thoughts into words.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-11-10, 10:41 PM
Daza Daza is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 261
Tucked into the ram tbh, its the only part that doesnt tell me how hot it is which really really bugs me.
__________________
MR D to you.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-11-10, 05:06 PM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,630
Oral or anal?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.