Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-03-08, 09:05 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
AMD Phenom B3 set to be 9X50

check the news out

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-03-08, 09:13 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
good job amd
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-03-08, 09:18 PM
Luigi Luigi is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,499
Sorry, i feel like a n00b... TLB?
__________________
Luigi

-----------

Project: Flat Pack - Coming soon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-03-08, 09:30 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMD Forums

Much of AMD's bad luck over the last three months revolves around a nasty bug it just can't shake

Erratum, to those in the hardware or software industry, is a nice way of saying "we missed a test case" during development and design.

Yesterday, The Tech Report confirmed AMD's iteration of Intel's F00F bug. The bug, which has been documented since at least early November, can cause a deadlock during recursive or nested cache writes.

How does the TLB erratum occur? All AMD quad-core processors utilize a shared L3 cache. In instances where the software uses nested memory pages, this processor will experience a race condition.

AMD's desktop product marketing manager Michael Saucier describes a race condition as a series of events "where the other guy wins who isn't supposed to win."

In the software world, a typical memory race condition occurs when the memory arbiter is instructed to overwrite an older block of memory, but write the old block of memory to somewhere else in cache. In the instance where two arbiters follow this same rule set, its easy to see how a race condition can occur: both arbiters attempt to overwrite the same blocks of information, resulting in a deadlock.

From what AMD engineers would tell DailyTech, this example is very similar to what occurs with nested memory pages in virtualized machines on these K10 processors.

AMD has since released a new BIOS patch for all K10 motherboards, including the often cited but rarely seen MSI K9A2 Platinum. This patch, confirmed by DailyTech, will result in at least a 10% reduction in general computing speed.

AMD partners tell DailyTech that all bulk Barcelona shipments have been halted pending application screening based on the customer. Cray, for example, was allowed its latest allocation for machines that will not use these nested virtualization techniques. Other AMD corporate customers were told to use Revision F3 (K8) processors in the meantime.

The TLB erratum will be fixed in the B3 stepping of all AMD quad-core processors, including Phenom and Barcelona. However, AMD considers the B3 stepping a "March" item on its 2008 roadmap. Processors shipped between then and now will still carry the TLB bug, though with the BIOS workaround these machines will not experience a lockup.
Source
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-03-08, 09:42 PM
Luigi Luigi is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,499
Nice, shame they still wont match upto core2quads
__________________
Luigi

-----------

Project: Flat Pack - Coming soon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-03-08, 11:39 PM
Deshman Deshman is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Nice, shame they still wont match upto core2quads
Yeah I'd have preferred my next upgrade to be a real quad rather than Intel's half-arsed approach.
__________________
Initial Watercooled Build Log: linky
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-03-08, 09:51 AM
Luigi Luigi is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,499
although... nehalem is true quad is it not, later this year..

I prefer the under dog anyway, its nice to see them beat the big guns just a shame its not happened for a while
__________________
Luigi

-----------

Project: Flat Pack - Coming soon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19-03-08, 05:43 AM
PCFlip PCFlip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 159
Ya Im building an AMD Spider rig but I think for the time being I will go with an X2 6400+ Black edition and hold out until the next gen or at least until the B3 models has had some time to roam the open market to get some real in sites on it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19-03-08, 06:57 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Im doing the same as you cept im holding out till decent AM3s. Im glad to see AMD worked out the bug i was so afraid of. Hopefully it means better performance?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20-03-08, 06:13 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
Im doing the same as you cept im holding out till decent AM3s. Im glad to see AMD worked out the bug i was so afraid of. Hopefully it means better performance?
Well ye in theory as they won't have to disable some of the optimisations on the chip as they have to now
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:01 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.