Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Customer Care Forums > Asus UK Customer Care Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-08-19, 10:39 PM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 271
More Asus BIOS issues.... AM4 Systems not powering down

i have update the BIOS of my crosshair hero 7 to 2501 a few weeks ago.

after the update the system does not shut down.

i select shut down in windows and windows seems to shut down... well system goes to a black screen.
but the system is still powered on.

the fans are turning. power led is on etc.

i have to manualy power down the pc via power button.
on next boot i get "F1 please enter bios" crap....

i did nothing beside updating to bios 2501.
i have loaded optimized defaults etc.
latest chipset divers at that time were installed.
now the updated chipset drivers are installed but the issue remains.

today i updated my STRIX B350-F to BIOS version 5204.
the BIOS was released on 7.8.2019, weeks after i reported the issue with the crosshair (and i am not alone with the issue).

i wonder how incompetent these guys at asus are.
the quality of the asus bios was why i choose asus boards for a long time (since 2011).
now they are as crappy as other brands....


the fix for the issue is:


1) enable S5 state in apm settings in the bios



if that alone does not help:



2) disable Windows 10 fast boot

__________________
2x TR 2950, 2x 2700x, 1x 3700x, 1x 3900x
2x Eizo CG 2730 1x Eizo CS 2730
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-19, 10:19 AM
Eddie long's Avatar
Eddie long Eddie long is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 453
I sometimes have issues when I update bios . Updated my rampage 5 ed 10 a couple of days ago and it killed my rog armoury , had to completely remove it and reinstall , must admit it's the first time it's upset this one . Normally upsets AI Suite
__________________
Life isn't always a bowl of cherry's.
Sometimes it's HARD WORK
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-19, 03:41 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,368
I had the exact same issue but for me it was windows update 1903, rolled it back and problem sorted
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.