Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 20-06-18, 10:26 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,496
Monitoring your connected devices ?

Hi Guys,

Long time no post

With our homes becoming more and more connected, I just thought I would point out how important it is to monitor all devices and find out exactly how everybody here monitors there connected devices ?

One way to do this is using a syslog server ( I'm using Syslog Watcher from https://syslogwatcher.com/ ) .


I have a few Ubiquiti wireless access points around my home, a Ubiquiti Edgerouter for my internet connection and routing all my vlans (will be looking to upgrade to 10gb switch when the prices come down), a couple of windows PC's and a wireless doorbell with intergrated camera.
If anybody tries to access one of devices via brute force or even just gets one password wrong then I'm instantly alerted about this, also I've had a few memory leaks running old firmware and rather than the router just freeze due to lack of memory I can configure it to alert when memory gets over a certain threshold. When somebody is trying to brute force my RDP password on my public IP address I'll get notified and I can just block the offending IP on my ERL3 firewall.


Anyway that's enough of me, how are you lot monitoring all your connected devices ?


Cheers, FTLN

__________________
Intel Core i9 9900kK @ 5.00GHz @1.275v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - Corsair 3000mhz CL16 LED 4x16GB SKHYNIX - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110i - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-06-18, 11:39 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,201
I want to get a VPN based router/modem unit but not sure where to start and honestly super expensive. I would love for a VPN hardware based solution rather than a subscription.

As for monitoring on a VPN i don't know how to do it.

As of now I don't really monitor anything. Everything has anti virus and nothing has much personal stuff on it. Everything gets backed up immediately.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-06-18, 12:10 AM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,487
I love the Ubiquiti gear. I've been using their stuff for PTP between buildings and just recently set up an edgerouter with cloud key and AP for a customer with a Captive Portal for guests. Really powerful stuff for how cheap it is.

As far as monitoring goes, I don't monitor my home equipment, I do enough of that at work. I don't have anything externally accessible, I need to VPN in for access. Leaving RDP out there for people to hit is just asking for trouble. I'm using Graylog for syslog on my work network and I use Cacti for host up/down and snmp stats.
__________________
CaseLabs Mercury S3 | i7 4790k | Maximus VII Impact | RTX 2080 Super | 16GB DDR3 | 512GB NVMe
Acer Predator Z35P


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-06-18, 05:51 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,496
Yeah the UBNT ERL3 is pretty mental considering all its features vs price, I do pretty much everything in the cli now, the learning curve was a bit steep but the downtime was worth it, I also had no choice as IPV6 is not supported in the webgui. Also best thing about learning cli configuration on UBNT is that it is almost identical to vyos, so if I need to set up a lab for for work in esxi I can push a vyos vm in the lab to do all the routing.
__________________
Intel Core i9 9900kK @ 5.00GHz @1.275v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - Corsair 3000mhz CL16 LED 4x16GB SKHYNIX - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110i - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-06-18, 09:25 AM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 490
I’m glad you posted this as it got me to look at the config on my Cisco 1921. Turns out I’d totally forgotten to restrict access to both the telnet interface & the web interface. Rather glad it’s got a very long & complicated password and my IP address is dynamic.

All fixed now so access to the router can only be made via the internal network interface only.
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ AMD Radeon Vega 56 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
Seasonic Prime 750W ⁞⁞ Polaris 961 256GB ⁞⁞ 850 Pro 512GB ⁞⁞ M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB x2 ⁞⁞ Samsung C27HG70 + Dell 2408WFP
Ducky Shine 5 ⁞⁞ AJA Kona LSe ⁞⁞ RME HDSPe AIO ⁞⁞ Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-06-18, 09:11 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kei View Post
I’m glad you posted this as it got me to look at the config on my Cisco 1921. Turns out I’d totally forgotten to restrict access to both the telnet interface & the web interface. Rather glad it’s got a very long & complicated password and my IP address is dynamic.

All fixed now so access to the router can only be made via the internal network interface only.
Ouch, that could have been nasty....

Whats the throughput like on that 1921 ? I had a 2921 for a few weeks in the house but couldn't stand the noise...
__________________
Intel Core i9 9900kK @ 5.00GHz @1.275v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - Corsair 3000mhz CL16 LED 4x16GB SKHYNIX - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110i - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-06-18, 10:32 PM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 490
It could have been. No idea on the throughput but it happily covers my 80mbit FTTC connection. Best of all is that it is relatively quiet.
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ AMD Radeon Vega 56 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
Seasonic Prime 750W ⁞⁞ Polaris 961 256GB ⁞⁞ 850 Pro 512GB ⁞⁞ M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB x2 ⁞⁞ Samsung C27HG70 + Dell 2408WFP
Ducky Shine 5 ⁞⁞ AJA Kona LSe ⁞⁞ RME HDSPe AIO ⁞⁞ Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-06-18, 04:03 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,496
Well if you ever need to upgrade the ios and have a hardtime getting the ios image then just let me know. I work for a Cisco Gold Partner and have full access to the images on the download sections.
__________________
Intel Core i9 9900kK @ 5.00GHz @1.275v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - Corsair 3000mhz CL16 LED 4x16GB SKHYNIX - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110i - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.