Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-05-17, 10:35 AM
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 74
Fan control by watertemp

Hi

I'm in the start of planning a custom watercooling loop.
The current plan.
Corsair 250D
EKWB
SE 240
CE 140
= 3 fans and a DDC pump. (EK-SBAY)

EDIT: I want to be able to control the fans according to water temperature.
Aquacomputer Aquaero seems to be the way to go, but 100€ to control 3 fans?
Any better options, or is Aquaero just THAT good (I want the 6 LT due to heat output)

Corsair Commander mini = No way, just as expensive, and i have had problems with the software

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-05-17, 10:40 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 2,891
Aquaaero is THAT good. but with their new policy i find BS, you will need to pay a license fee to continue using their software.

That being said, its not worth it for just 3fans unless you wanted to use it for your pumps too. But why control fans based on watertemp? water fluctuations will be slow and very small in comparison to fans controlled in proportion to hardware temps like CPU, GPU, mobo etc.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-05-17, 11:50 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Aquaaero is THAT good. but with their new policy i find BS, you will need to pay a license fee to continue using their software.
lol what?
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-05-17, 02:37 PM
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
you will need to pay a license fee to continue using their software.
As i understand it, you can keep using it. You just cant update to a newer version of the software, unless you pay for it. Or am i wrong?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
That being said, its not worth it for just 3fans unless you wanted to use it for your pumps too. But why control fans based on watertemp? water fluctuations will be slow and very small in comparison to fans controlled in proportion to hardware temps like CPU, GPU, mobo etc.
Because then the fanspeed will also only rise slowly. And all 3 fans will spinup/work together.
So in a game with 99% GPU and 40% CPU, all fans can work together. Instead of 2 not spinning up.
The goal is to be as quiet as possible
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-05-17, 08:23 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 2,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korreborg View Post
As i understand it, you can keep using it. You just cant update to a newer version of the software, unless you pay for it. Or am i wrong?

Because then the fanspeed will also only rise slowly. And all 3 fans will spinup/work together.
So in a game with 99% GPU and 40% CPU, all fans can work together. Instead of 2 not spinning up.
The goal is to be as quiet as possible
You can make your fans work together and rise slowly even if using your CPU temp on your basic mobo software. You just need to adjust the fan graph to not be so responsive on miniscule temp changes.

At the end of the day, it is your money to spend as you will. I use the Aquaaero XT6 and I love it, I just think its wasted money if only used for 3 fans. Of course you can expand at a later time. But depending on your fans being pwm or not, there are probably cheaper alternative like Lamptron CW611 if fans are 3pin.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-05-17, 03:09 PM
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
You can make your fans work together and rise slowly even if using your CPU temp on your basic mobo software. You just need to adjust the fan graph to not be so responsive on miniscule temp changes.
But thats not fun
I have 2 Corsair ML120 and a ML140, so PWN. I will probably be getting the Aquaaero 6LT
Then there is room for upgrading
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Yesterday, 09:43 PM
stealth80 stealth80 is online now
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 19
What motherboard do you have? My Asus Z97 Ranger had a "T-Probe" which I could connect a thermal sensor to and install it the loop. The Fans could then be set in the bios to react to the t probe temp rather than CPU temp, a cheaper solution if your board has the connector
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Yesterday, 10:00 PM
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 74
I have thought of that possibility, but my old Z87I-PRO does not have that option
__________________
[I7-4790K @ 4.5Ghz][ASUS Z87I-PRO][EVGA 1080TI FE][Kingston HyperX 16GB 2400MHz][Corsair 250D][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 850 PRO 128][Crucial MX100 512GB][WD 2TB][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Yesterday, 10:31 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,254
Only relatively "new" boards have that option. I know my Crosshair VI does, but I haven't made use of it yet. Nice sounding feature on paper, but if they don't make it easy in the software or BIOS, it's a moot point. I'm going to try to make use of it just cause it's there, and I can, same reason you want it. You should have loads of fun with an Aquero!
__________________
Guts: i7 3820 / Asus Rampage IV Gene / 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum / Zotac GTX 980 x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: 2x ADATA SX900 256GB SSDs in RAID0 / 2x 3TB in RAID1 / 2x 1TB stand alone
Water Cooling: CPU - Darkside Heatkiller / GPUs - EK 980
/ 360 rad x 3 / dual D5 vario pumps
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Yesterday, 11:15 PM
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
You should have loads of fun with an Aquero!
I'm hopefully handing in my Master Thesis on the 9th of June.
The watercooling is going to be a present for myself
Being an engineer i think the Aquerro is just the thing for me
__________________
[I7-4790K @ 4.5Ghz][ASUS Z87I-PRO][EVGA 1080TI FE][Kingston HyperX 16GB 2400MHz][Corsair 250D][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 850 PRO 128][Crucial MX100 512GB][WD 2TB][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 09:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.