Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-03-17, 01:07 AM
Starfire Starfire is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Loose boot drive on ryzen overclock.

I have a EVO 850, which I believe is SATA not PCI, and whenever I up base clock I loose the EVO in the boot options. I'd understand if it was pci, but being sata I didn't think that would happen, ideas?

I'm using a Crosshairs VI BTW

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-17, 05:22 PM
Seikusa Seikusa is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Same Issue, except my bootdrive is a non-EVO.
Seems to mostly to happen when I access my BIOS before Booting. But It will boot most of the time with a 39 multiplier and standart baseclock.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-17, 05:54 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 12,793
You guys update the BIOS?
__________________
“There is only one Lord of the Ring, only one who can bend it to his will. And he does not share power.”
-Gandalf
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-05-17, 06:50 AM
Celt Celt is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
I have not had an issue with my SSD (960 EVO), but my sound card is sensitive to BCLK hikes. I tested from 101 frequency and upped a notch at a time to find what it would tolerate.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-05-17, 09:16 PM
Davva2004's Avatar
Davva2004 Davva2004 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 1,041
Ryzen is proper flaky on BCLK overclocking, I'd leave the BCLK alone so that everything works as it should and overclock the CPU via the multiplier, you can use quarter multimpler values to fine tune the overclock.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-05-17, 09:06 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Celt View Post
I have not had an issue with my SSD (960 EVO), but my sound card is sensitive to BCLK hikes. I tested from 101 frequency and upped a notch at a time to find what it would tolerate.

Is it a PCIE sound card? BCLK overclocks the PCIE too.....
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-05-17, 10:27 PM
Celt Celt is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Is it a PCIE sound card? BCLK overclocks the PCIE too.....
Yes, it is an Essence STX PCIE, hence with a BCLK of around 112, I lose it. Right now I am using a BCLK of 108, CPU at 3968.9 GHz memory at 3455.8MHz with 14-14-14-34.

I'm also using P-states in conjunction with elmor's Zenstates - which is a great tool for P-states within Windows. Everything else set in bios.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-05-17, 07:09 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Celt View Post
Yes, it is an Essence STX PCIE, hence with a BCLK of around 112, I lose it. Right now I am using a BCLK of 108, CPU at 3968.9 GHz memory at 3455.8MHz with 14-14-14-34.

I'm also using P-states in conjunction with elmor's Zenstates - which is a great tool for P-states within Windows. Everything else set in bios.

At least you know why its happening. Ive heard people saying high BCLK has nuked M.2's

Ive not had any issues with mine yet though
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 08:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.