Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics - Other
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 17-11-16, 12:24 PM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 402
Failed GPU or PSU

Hello everyone.

I'm sorry to ask but I've got a major problem with my PC.

It's been running for a while now, and today both my monitors blanked and when I tried to reboot, all I get is: "Please power down and connect the PCIe cable(s) for this graphics card". I've took the card out, reseated it and double checked the power cable is connected properly but still no avail. I'm running a GTX780 and an RM850, both parts are a couple of years old.

I've read up that it could be either the GPU or the PSU but I have no means of testing with another set of hardware because I have none spare. Anyone got any ideas whether I could test without needing any other parts? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-11-16, 12:34 PM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is offline
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,924
You could get a multimeter and probe the cable going to your gpu to see what voltages that 12V rail outputs.
__________________

--------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Theory is when you have the "know how" but nothing works.
Practice is when everything works but no one knows why.
In our lab, theory and practice are combined: Nothing works and no one knows why
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-11-16, 12:48 PM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelosouvlakia View Post
You could get a multimeter and probe the cable going to your gpu to see what voltages that 12V rail outputs.
That's a good idea, but like a donkey I don't have one, I've got one on order though, right now I'm running on the Intel Integrated GPU. Just worried on the cost of getting this all sorted

Thank you though, I didn't think of that
__________________
Go Hard or Go Home.

Main Rig
Ryzen 1700X @ 3.8GHz | MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon | Corsair H100i v2 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED Blue 3200 MHz
XFX RX 480 8GB | 240GB Corsair Neutron GTX | 2 x 1TB HGST | Corsair RM850 CableMod | Corsair Carbide 400C - Soon to be Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Side Rig (Will be complete.. Sometime)
Phenom II X4 955 | Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 | Cooler TBC | 4GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz | XFX Radeon HD 6850 1GB
SSD TBC | HDD TBC | PSU TBC |
Soon to be Corsair Carbide 400C
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-11-16, 12:51 PM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is offline
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ggles1994 View Post
That's a good idea, but like a donkey I don't have one, I've got one on order though, right now I'm running on the Intel Integrated GPU. Just worried on the cost of getting this all sorted

Thank you though, I didn't think of that

It's the best thing you can do without having a spare gpu or a graphics card. Just make sure you probe the right cables


And do that with your card plugged in.. The voltage might be fine without it hooked on but it may drop dramatically when plugged in
__________________

--------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Theory is when you have the "know how" but nothing works.
Practice is when everything works but no one knows why.
In our lab, theory and practice are combined: Nothing works and no one knows why
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-11-16, 12:59 PM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelosouvlakia View Post
It's the best thing you can do without having a spare gpu or a graphics card. Just make sure you probe the right cables


And do that with your card plugged in.. The voltage might be fine without it hooked on but it may drop dramatically when plugged in
Aye I will do, thank you for everything and the picture as well, knowing me I would have probed the opposite cables
__________________
Go Hard or Go Home.

Main Rig
Ryzen 1700X @ 3.8GHz | MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon | Corsair H100i v2 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED Blue 3200 MHz
XFX RX 480 8GB | 240GB Corsair Neutron GTX | 2 x 1TB HGST | Corsair RM850 CableMod | Corsair Carbide 400C - Soon to be Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Side Rig (Will be complete.. Sometime)
Phenom II X4 955 | Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 | Cooler TBC | 4GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz | XFX Radeon HD 6850 1GB
SSD TBC | HDD TBC | PSU TBC |
Soon to be Corsair Carbide 400C
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-11-16, 01:02 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 8,492
How does it behave with the GPU removed?
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904|240gb+512gb Samsung evo 840| ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17-11-16, 01:21 PM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
How does it behave with the GPU removed?
It seems to be behaving, I've left it to run the GPU-Z render test while the CPU converts a few videos through Handbrake and it seems stable. Going to give my GPU a once over while the system runs to see whether there's any sign of a failed VRM or anything. I'm trying to procure an old GPU and PSU to try and run and I've managed to get a 6670 but it has no power connections. Gonna run it anyway to rule out the motherboard.
__________________
Go Hard or Go Home.

Main Rig
Ryzen 1700X @ 3.8GHz | MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon | Corsair H100i v2 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED Blue 3200 MHz
XFX RX 480 8GB | 240GB Corsair Neutron GTX | 2 x 1TB HGST | Corsair RM850 CableMod | Corsair Carbide 400C - Soon to be Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Side Rig (Will be complete.. Sometime)
Phenom II X4 955 | Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 | Cooler TBC | 4GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz | XFX Radeon HD 6850 1GB
SSD TBC | HDD TBC | PSU TBC |
Soon to be Corsair Carbide 400C
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.