Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-09-14, 06:01 PM
Devo234's Avatar
Devo234 Devo234 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posts: 440
amd to nvidia drivers

hi guys
i just bought a 780 now they are so cheap i thought ide be mad not too

my question is that im upgrading from an amd card so whats the process i need to follow to remove/install the drivers. and is driversweeper really necessary?

thanks in advance

Devin

__________________
i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz - Corsair H60/sp120 quiet - z77a g45 - 8gb vengeance lp 1600 - gigabyte windforce 780 - 120gb/250gb 840 evo - 1tb barracuda - rm850




OC3D Overclockers Club Member
No. 038
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-09-14, 06:06 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,351
Just follow AMDs uninstall guide in the drivers section.
http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-arti...csDrivers.aspx

Then just install Nvidias use their guide if they have one. No need to overcomplicate.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-09-14, 06:06 PM
Tripp's Avatar
Tripp Tripp is offline
too many shrooms
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: mersyside
Posts: 3,697
do a driver sweep of all the AMD drivers, an reboot an install the Gforce drivers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-09-14, 06:09 PM
Devo234's Avatar
Devo234 Devo234 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posts: 440
ok cheers guys its just theres so many different ways out there. and people saying driversweeper is essential then others saying its pointless....... so i thought ide the guys that i trust when it comes to tech
__________________
i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz - Corsair H60/sp120 quiet - z77a g45 - 8gb vengeance lp 1600 - gigabyte windforce 780 - 120gb/250gb 840 evo - 1tb barracuda - rm850




OC3D Overclockers Club Member
No. 038
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-09-14, 06:10 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,618
Member Dicehunter has done a whole thread about GPU driver uninstall/installation http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=67215
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-09-14, 06:11 PM
Devo234's Avatar
Devo234 Devo234 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posts: 440
ah cool thanks dude
__________________
i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz - Corsair H60/sp120 quiet - z77a g45 - 8gb vengeance lp 1600 - gigabyte windforce 780 - 120gb/250gb 840 evo - 1tb barracuda - rm850




OC3D Overclockers Club Member
No. 038
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-09-14, 08:38 PM
BigBlue1 BigBlue1 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: All over the world.
Posts: 289
Uninstall the drivers installed now.
Reboot the system
Install new drivers

Couldn't be simpler.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-09-14, 08:43 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlue1 View Post
Uninstall the drivers installed now.
Reboot the system
Install new drivers

Couldn't be simpler.
Easier said than done when switching from a AMD card, the Drivers won't always remove 100%, that's why I linked the DDU thread There is nothing worse than old .dll files conflicting with new ones.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-09-14, 10:44 PM
remember300 remember300 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dagenham
Posts: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraithguard View Post
Easier said than done when switching from a AMD card, the Drivers won't always remove 100%, that's why I linked the DDU thread There is nothing worse than old .dll files conflicting with new ones.
Tell me about it, my mate was worried about his card, i popped it in my system was a 5970, apart from the fan being a nuisance ... still need to find a new fan for it... lol
The drivers would not just go with out the full uninstall ... to put back my 780
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-09-14, 02:43 AM
BigBlue1 BigBlue1 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: All over the world.
Posts: 289
You have to check the box to remove all AMD software, but I figured that was self explanatory, guess not.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:10 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.