Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 17-05-15, 08:15 PM
81ish 81ish is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles1980 View Post
mu rig "now with 2x 240 rads and 2 bay res " easily takes 3l of fluid. so i like to buy a bit more for spares..
I just buy de-ionised water though. and then you buy a little bottle of blue crap that kills any fungle stuff..
that bottle takes 1-2 drops per L so even the tiny little dropper bottle you get is LOADS and would probably do 100 or so builds (as an estimate)

As for the fans i have just gone to Pull only configuration. i find the cooling to be just as good. less noise, and easier to clean.

wow. 3l of fluid. thats even smaller loop then im planning 2 get.

so u didnt go with coloring ur loop? ive heard that becuz of the color dye, it might get clumpy in the rads. is that true or can u confirme that?

__________________
i7 4790K, Asus Maximus VII Hero Z97, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB, Samsung 4K monitor, 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz, Seagate 2 TB HDD. Asus Matrix Platnum 290x CF. Thermaltake Core V51
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 17-05-15, 08:30 PM
shambles1980's Avatar
shambles1980 shambles1980 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North wales
Posts: 1,185
dyes in the fluid is all pigments, and all pigments will break down and eventually seperate from the fluid. so yes its a confirmed truth "physics means it has to happen"
best to get coloured tubes.
personally i use clear tube and a clear 2 bay res, and then have some green led strips in the pc, these don't need to be bright at all. they illuminate the pc and give the impression that the water is green.

but i am thinking of changing to all black tubing with just the clear bay res and the led's.. with where i have my pc you cant really see in the side window unless you get down on your knees any way so the front bay is where the focal attention of any one thats not used to water cooling would go.

also my 240 rads are pretty thick. they arent the standard thickness ones. so they can probably hold a bit more fluid.
but even before then when i had a standard 240 and a small 120 i could use 2l with ease. (but my 2 bay res will hold a LOT of fluid).
with my old set up i could fill the res. turn on the system let it all bleed through and the water level would never go too low. With this set up i have to top it up again to stop the pump getting air in to it.
__________________
i7 2600, intel dz77sl-50k, 16gb 1600 DDR3, 900d case, gtx 780 @ 1306/1727 "xspc block", 1x 240 1x360 1x480 rads 2 bay res, http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14829772
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 17-05-15, 08:42 PM
81ish 81ish is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles1980 View Post
dyes in the fluid is all pigments, and all pigments will break down and eventually seperate from the fluid. so yes its a confirmed truth "physics means it has to happen"
best to get coloured tubes.
personally i use clear tube and a clear 2 bay res, and then have some green led strips in the pc, these don't need to be bright at all. they illuminate the pc and give the impression that the water is green.

thx bro.

ill go with the coloured tubes. ill want the red match up with my mobo. just a bonus question, what kinda leds been just 2 light up in the loop. (dont know if that kinda leds ur talking about, or waterproff leds in the loops)

like f.eks. this one below.
__________________
i7 4790K, Asus Maximus VII Hero Z97, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB, Samsung 4K monitor, 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz, Seagate 2 TB HDD. Asus Matrix Platnum 290x CF. Thermaltake Core V51
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 18-05-15, 01:03 AM
shambles1980's Avatar
shambles1980 shambles1980 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North wales
Posts: 1,185
just some strip 12v leds. they mount inside the case But i mount them so they point behind the motherboard tray and the light is more reflected in to the case off the side pannel rather than directly shines in to the case.
I prefer blue to green, but blue LED's are usually really bright so i went green.
__________________
i7 2600, intel dz77sl-50k, 16gb 1600 DDR3, 900d case, gtx 780 @ 1306/1727 "xspc block", 1x 240 1x360 1x480 rads 2 bay res, http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14829772
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 18-05-15, 08:13 PM
81ish 81ish is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 28
does this look good?

sry 4 the bad markups. only way i could do it, just to show the way it can look.



can the pump get directly in to the gpu? with no problem with flow and pressure, or does it have 2 go to one of the rads?
__________________
i7 4790K, Asus Maximus VII Hero Z97, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB, Samsung 4K monitor, 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz, Seagate 2 TB HDD. Asus Matrix Platnum 290x CF. Thermaltake Core V51
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 18-05-15, 08:53 PM
Damo666 Damo666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portsmouth.UK
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81ish View Post
can the pump get directly in to the gpu? with no problem with flow and pressure, or does it have 2 go to one of the rads?
As long as the pump is feed from the res (so it is primed), the flow can go in any order you fancy just try and keep it simple for best results.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 18-05-15, 09:03 PM
81ish 81ish is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damo666 View Post
As long as the pump is feed from the res (so it is primed), the flow can go in any order you fancy just try and keep it simple for best results.

thx appreciate it alot.
__________________
i7 4790K, Asus Maximus VII Hero Z97, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB, Samsung 4K monitor, 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz, Seagate 2 TB HDD. Asus Matrix Platnum 290x CF. Thermaltake Core V51
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 18-05-15, 11:00 PM
Remmy's Avatar
Remmy Remmy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: York
Posts: 1,503
Looks fine to me (It's very similar to my loop like that)
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 18-05-15, 11:06 PM
81ish 81ish is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 28
just one last question:

can the res, connect directly with this fitting to the pump underneth?

http://www.coolerkit.dk/shop/alphacool-2-x-3096p.html
instead of connecting with a tube.


the res is:
http://www.coolerkit.dk/shop/ek-res-x3-3273p.html



and the pump is:

http://www.coolerkit.dk/shop/ekwb-ek-xtop-d5-5738p.html
__________________
i7 4790K, Asus Maximus VII Hero Z97, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB, Samsung 4K monitor, 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz, Seagate 2 TB HDD. Asus Matrix Platnum 290x CF. Thermaltake Core V51
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 18-05-15, 11:13 PM
Remmy's Avatar
Remmy Remmy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: York
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81ish View Post
just one last question:

can the res, connect directly with this fitting to the pump underneth?

http://www.coolerkit.dk/shop/alphacool-2-x-3096p.html
instead of connecting with a tube.


the res is:
http://www.coolerkit.dk/shop/ek-res-x3-3273p.html



and the pump is:

http://www.coolerkit.dk/shop/ekwb-ek-xtop-d5-5738p.html
That should be fine, but I'm not familiar with the DDC. You're probably better off just getting a pump/res top combo if you're going to do that anyway.

Edit: Ahh, D5, I read earlier on the thread you were choosing the DDC. I'd get a reservoir pump top, there are loads available for D5s
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:10 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.