Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 08-02-14, 07:01 PM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Why no ? The extra memory will be useful if he ever goes multi monitor and is also very useful for games i.e modding the crap out of Skyrim, Not to mention various other games.
The PSU would also be a good choice so he can go SLI in the future, Cant just think of the "Now", Have to think ahead a bit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekaX View Post
i'd get the 2GB MSi 770.
the 280x is now more expensive than a 770? i knew the miners pushed the prices through the roof but not too long ago the 280x was still 20-30$ cheaper.



the only reason for why i have a 4GB 770 is that it was on sale. the card isn't strong enough for triple screen gaming anyways.
A single GTX 770 is not fast enough to use 4gb of vram.

If you run 3 or 4 GTX 770s in SLI for triple screen gaming even if they have 4gb of vram they are still a bad choice due to the 256bit bus holding them back.

If the OP is looking to spend $2000, he really should be looking at a GTX 780 or R9 290P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
True but if he ever got a 2nd 770 it would be a good experience plus the higher wattage PSU he wants to get would help with this.

I'm just going off personal experience.
My GTX 690s are fine up to 1600p in quad sli and they only have 2gb of vram.

They eat GTX 780ti's for breakfast.

__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-02-14, 07:34 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 13,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
They eat GTX 780ti's for breakfast.
I'd be disappointed if they couldn't, Beast of a card, I was outbid on one by like £5 or so, Hence why I ended up going the 780 Ti route, Couldn't afford the full price of a 690 at the time due to a bunch of bills coming in
__________________
=Origin-Steam-Uplay-XBLive - Dicehunter=

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-02-14, 07:54 PM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
I'd be disappointed if they couldn't, Beast of a card, I was outbid on one by like £5 or so, Hence why I ended up going the 780 Ti route, Couldn't afford the full price of a 690 at the time due to a bunch of bills coming in
The GTX 780ti is the future, the GTX 690 however nice is the past.

Yes you can put two GTX 690s together and they are very fast but that trick does not work with three.
__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-02-14, 07:57 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 13,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
The GTX 780ti is the future, the GTX 690 however nice is the past.

Yes you can put two GTX 690s together and they are very fast but that trick does not work with three.
Imagine if it did ?!, 6-Way SLI, You would have ALL the frames !
__________________
=Origin-Steam-Uplay-XBLive - Dicehunter=

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-02-14, 08:11 PM
ahimoth ahimoth is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
A single GTX 770 is not fast enough to use 4gb of vram.

If you run 3 or 4 GTX 770s in SLI for triple screen gaming even if they have 4gb of vram they are still a bad choice due to the 256bit bus holding them back.
Pretty much my reasoning.

I'm not going to sit here and pretend I know full well how the bit-bus interacts with the amount of ram and then how you factor in ram speed into the equation. What I hear is that a 770 can not utilize the full 4GB of ram. Also all benchmarks show no performance gain with the 4GB of ram. It leads me to come to the conclusion that there really isn't any need for 4gb of ram on the 770 and any scenario which would hypothetically require the 4gb of ram is unknown to me.

Additionally OP isn't gaming on surround and is running multi-monitor for productivity. Case in point... save a bit of money here or there and splurge out on the best possible graphics card you can get now.

GTX 780 is beast and the R9 290's with after market coolers are beast also. I highly recommend you try and get either one of these cards.

My 770 of choice right now is the EVGA line with the classified looking nice but isn't worth the price. Asus' DCII will serve you nicely.
__________________
i5-3570k @4.5 GHZ 1.336v - Asus Maximus V Formula -Corsair Vengeance 16Gb 1600Mhz Red - Inno 3D GTX 780 - Asus DCII GTX 780 - Asus DCII GTX 780 (not installed) - Corsair 900D - Seagate1TB 7200 RPM- WD 2TB Green - Samsung 530 120GB SSD - Samsung evo 540 250GB (not installed) - Samsung evo 540 250GB (not installed)

Alphacool XT45 480 - XSPC RX 240 (not installed) 140 AF QE white LED - 3 x 120 AF PE - 4 x phobya 120mm - 4 x Bitfinex 120mm pro - 4 x NF-F12 (not installed)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-02-14, 09:19 PM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
Edit could a mod delete this please.
there is a delete option when you edit a post.

but yea, 770s are really more something for people like me who have no intent of upgrading their res anytime soon and rather have a very high framerate on possibly a 144hz monitor. 2GB fully suffices for that.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 23-02-14, 12:03 AM
kbalaz kbalaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Lethbridge, AB, Canada
Posts: 203
something to add to everything been said. If you are going to be using photoshop and lightroom, they don't play well with dual gpu's in sli, can cause problems with some actions. I am running a single asus gtx-770 with acx cooler and it works very well with photoshop, lightroom and currently playing Tomb Raider (2013) on Ultimate setting and getting 60fps.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 23-02-14, 12:28 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekaX View Post
i'd get the 2GB MSi 770.
the 280x is now more expensive than a 770? i knew the miners pushed the prices through the roof but not too long ago the 280x was still 20-30$ cheaper.
In the US a 280x is about $30 cheaper than a 780. Mine as well get a 780 OP.
Now for the monitor if you want a 1440p res(which you should get for a 780) then your budget will be smaller for other parts like your keyboard for example..

Also just a tip. Buy a genuine copy of Windows on Ebay. I got 2 different 7 Ultimate copies for $100 vs $200 for a non OEM W7 Home Premium from other places.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-03-14, 01:57 AM
ThisisSataaa ThisisSataaa is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
there has been plenty of tech reviews done on anandtech and alien about 4gb vs 2gb 770's and the answer is u see anywhere from 0.2-2.7 FPS gain by going with the 4gb vs 2gb and it is most noticeable at higher resolutions yet i dont think the extra money is worth the 0.2-2.7 FPS gain u can take my advice if u want but if u dont w/e more power to u the card isnt even fast enough to take full advantage of the 4gb's yes u can fill games with texture mods and yes the 4gb can help a bit in that sense but even then u arent going to see much over 1fps gain from the additional 2 gbs of ram. So much misinformation on the net about this topic its really sad. if u want to see more in depth write ups there i would link u but im too lazy to its on linustechtips forum somewhere a link to a thread on anandtech or alien.. i dont remember.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-03-14, 02:02 AM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
In the US a 280x is about $30 cheaper than a 780. Mine as well get a 780 OP.
Now for the monitor if you want a 1440p res(which you should get for a 780) then your budget will be smaller for other parts like your keyboard for example..

Also just a tip. Buy a genuine copy of Windows on Ebay. I got 2 different 7 Ultimate copies for $100 vs $200 for a non OEM W7 Home Premium from other places.
i haven't tested 1440p yet, but i wouldn't give my 144hz goodness up for any higher resolution at a lower refresh rate.
the 780 could also be used for 144hz high fps 1080p gaming.
also where the heck do you get home premium for 200$, i paid 50 euros for mine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, build help, gpu help, new build advice

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.