Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Screens and Displays
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 09-02-17, 10:25 AM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 479
Got the new screen today and installed it on my VESA gas-lift arm. Pretty damn awesome screen, I'm already in love with it! Unfortunately it has a single dead pixel in the lower left corner, but I don't believe it's going to cause any annoyance for me, so I'll keep the screen.

Here's a few pics:




Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-02-17, 10:35 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 5,918
Nice one man

Shame about the pixel. Seems HP have QC issues because my first screen arrived with a gouge in the bottom right corner. Second one was perfect though.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-02-17, 08:38 PM
jimma47's Avatar
jimma47 jimma47 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hobart, Australia
Posts: 1,589
I love your desk.

32" seems a good size for a monitor as long as it's at least 1440 - I've seen a few 1080 panels that size and it's like watching an old analogue tv. Fuzzy.

I have some things coming up and I'll be moving again to somewhere I can have a dedicated sim rig set up. 3x32s may be a good way to go and will cost about as much as a VIVE so well worth considering. Mind you I'm struggling to push 5760*1080 at full fat graphics settings atm.
__________________
Rig Gallery - Krusty III

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-02-17, 08:55 PM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimma47 View Post
I love your desk.

32" seems a good size for a monitor as long as it's at least 1440 - I've seen a few 1080 panels that size and it's like watching an old analogue tv. Fuzzy.

I have some things coming up and I'll be moving again to somewhere I can have a dedicated sim rig set up. 3x32s may be a good way to go and will cost about as much as a VIVE so well worth considering. Mind you I'm struggling to push 5760*1080 at full fat graphics settings atm.
Thank you =)

Wouldn't you be better off with a 21:9 monitor? HP is coming out with a new one called Omen X which is a 35" screen 100Hz 3440x1440p and supports G-Sync as well.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-02-17, 09:19 PM
jimma47's Avatar
jimma47 jimma47 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hobart, Australia
Posts: 1,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolagarf View Post
Thank you =)

Wouldn't you be better off with a 21:9 monitor? HP is coming out with a new one called Omen X which is a 35" screen 100Hz 3440x1440p and supports G-Sync as well.
Oh yes I want to go single 34" for my desktop. I'm planning on getting an aluminium racing/flight sim chassis which will have it's own monitors and dedicated PC. A single 34" would work well there too but I love the surround effect.
__________________
Rig Gallery - Krusty III

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-02-17, 01:25 AM
Kilbane's Avatar
Kilbane Kilbane is offline
Hagrid Look-A-Like
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Abergavenny, S.Wales
Posts: 1,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolagarf View Post
Got the new screen today and installed it on my VESA gas-lift arm. Pretty damn awesome screen, I'm already in love with it! Unfortunately it has a single dead pixel in the lower left corner, but I don't believe it's going to cause any annoyance for me, so I'll keep the screen.
go to http://www.jscreenfix.com/ and leave the fixer running over the dead pixel for an hour or so. I had a bad pixel on my Iiyama display, fixed it nicely for a while, then came back. Rinsed and repeated and has been good since (almost a year later)
__________________
I'm not a Geek! ..... I'm an intellectual BADASS!!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-02-17, 08:17 AM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilbane View Post
go to http://www.jscreenfix.com/ and leave the fixer running over the dead pixel for an hour or so. I had a bad pixel on my Iiyama display, fixed it nicely for a while, then came back. Rinsed and repeated and has been good since (almost a year later)
That didn't help. The pixel is still dead. But it was worth a try, thank you for the suggestion. I still don't really notice it though, so I'm not so worried about it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 07:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.