Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 22-01-19, 06:18 PM
Wolvie1987 Wolvie1987 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 15
Question Crashing in games.

Hi all, im new to the forums and looking for desperate help!!

I'm hoping you can help as I now only have a few patches of hair left to pull out

Over Christmas I decided to build a new machine as follows:

Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming WIFI Intel Z370 (Socket 1151) DDR4 ATX Motherboard

Intel Core i5-8600K 3.6GHz (Coffee Lake) Socket LGA1151

G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16GB (2x8G DDR4 PC4-25600C16 3200MHz Dual Channel Kit (F4-3200C16D-16GTZR)

Inno3D GeForce GTX 1080 iChill Air Boss X4 8192MB GDDR5X PCI-Express Graphics Card (C108V4-2SDN-P6DN

Antec HCG Bronze 850W 80 Plus Bronze Modular Power Supply

Samsung 970 EVO Polaris 500GB M.2 2280 PCI-e 3.0 x4 NVMe Solid State Drive

Corsair ML120 Pro RGB Premium PWM Fan - 120mm

Corsair Gaming M65 PRO RGB FPS Gaming Mouse Backlit RGB LED 12000 DPI Optical White (CH-9300111-EU)

ASUS ROG Ryuo Performance AIO Liquid CPU Cooler with OLED Display -120mm

Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-OMEGA RGB Midi Tower Case - White (CC-9011141-WW)

The problem:

Windows its self seem to run fine the problem is when I go to play a game there always crashing sporadically.

For e.g

Battlefield 5 will crash with a Kernel.DLL error all the time

Shadow of the Tomb Raider will crash with DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

The Sims 4 seems to run ok...Not me playing it BTW
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I have enabled XMP in the bios @ 3200mhz also loaded optimized settings

All drivers are up to date as per gigabyte website and bios is up to date.

I did watch Toms review on this board which was worrying but can this be the problem of voltages?

I have also tried setting all the voltages and timings manually to 3200mhz @ 1.35v but this wont boot, it will however at 3000 but still hangs in games.

I have now lost all sanity trying to solve the problem any help from you guys would be great

P.s the CPU runs at 50c in game on ultra and the GPU around 70-75c

P.p.s Thanks for adding me to the forum

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-01-19, 06:53 PM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,259
Must be a graphics driver issue.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-01-19, 07:14 PM
Wolvie1987 Wolvie1987 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 15
Hi,


I thought that at first, i used ddu driver uninstaler twice already and also formated the pc again. still happens
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-01-19, 09:44 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,615
Is there any way you can share the actual crash logs with us? Kernel.DLL and DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG are a little vague.

Does it Blue screen at all could you share the log from that or check the Admin Events crash report in the control panel it should have full details there which would help lead to an answer.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-01-19, 11:52 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,897
Use DDU and then reinstall the driver.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-01-19, 12:02 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Use DDU and then reinstall the driver.
He already did that.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-01-19, 09:55 AM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,686
Have you got any other Powersupply to try, because to me this smells like a power issue, you put load on it and wham, it crashes, this could be a faulty psu.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-01-19, 10:54 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,446
wonder if its poor silicone lottery and struggling with the over clock. SIMs 4 is not intensive I believe, might be why its stable and works.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-01-19, 11:24 AM
Wolvie1987 Wolvie1987 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 15
Hi,

I have 2 spare psu's a 700w and a 750w Corsair and an OCZ i think,

I also have a GTX970 floating around.

I will post the errors a bit later today,

Thanks for your suggestions guys
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-01-19, 11:43 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolvie1987 View Post
Hi,

I have 2 spare psu's a 700w and a 750w Corsair and an OCZ i think,

I also have a GTX970 floating around.

I will post the errors a bit later today,

Thanks for your suggestions guys
See if you can disable the CPU overclocking. and try again. Just to check stability
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:15 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.