Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > Games
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 15-11-11, 03:51 PM
Philib Philib is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 276
Hi there guys, I was just about to purchase BF3 on Amazon when their star system caught my eye. It was saying that the average people were giving the game was 2 stars. "How can that be" I thought. so I checked a few of the reviews people had left and to my amazement most people said it was rubbish. They said the game itself was good but the whole origin thing and the fact it works of a web browser makes it unplayable.

What are your guys view on it? Can it really be this bad or is it just a bunch of 13 year olds whining because they cant play anything that doesn't involve putting a disk into a console.

P.S apologise in advance for any 13 year old that have a brain.

Please watch the language in the title - Brooksie

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-11-11, 03:55 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,899
There just a bunch of whining so and so's. The game itself is very good and highly enjoyable (imo).

EDIT: I like the web browser integration as it let's me check my friend's stats at work where I am unable to install the game for obvious reasons.
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + HP w1907v

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-11-11, 04:05 PM
Philib Philib is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 276
What about all the spyware that comes with it or is it just a case of "if you haven't got anything to hide then don't worry"?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-11-11, 04:06 PM
marsey99 marsey99 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,457
if you ignore the series its built on and play it for what it then it is a great game, well when it is working.

it has left a few things behind that i and many others enjoyed in the older bf games, the squad system and its voip, the commander role and a few other bits and pieces but it is still a fun team based fps game.

there are still a few issues with crashes and such but all games have those and i am sure once they get a patch out most of these little things will be sorted.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-11-11, 04:12 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philib View Post

What about all the spyware that comes with it or is it just a case of "if you haven't got anything to hide then don't worry"?
I'm not aware of what they actually monitor with regards to the data stored on your computer, but I've heard that they only monitor files relating to Origin/BF3. I am not 100% sure, so don't quote me on this. I wouldn't worry too much about it though, as it is very likely other clients (like Steam) are doing the same sort of thing, but are not being as transparent as Origin have been about the matter.

Other than the above, the game is brilliant with a few crashes now and then (which is understandable, given how new it is).
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + HP w1907v

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-11-11, 04:17 PM
Lollipop's Avatar
Lollipop Lollipop is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Denmark, Copenhagen
Posts: 2,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post

I am not 100% sure, so don't quote me on this.
Quoted... Anyways back on topic, BattleLog is the worst piece of i have ever tried.... i get random crashes for no reason what so ever, but when the game actually works it's alot of fun!
__________________
2500k @ 4.3GHz
eVGA 670 FTW
ASUS P67 Sabertooth
Corsair H100
Corsair Dominator Platinum 2x4GB
Corsair AX850
Corsair Vengeance C70
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-11-11, 04:21 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

Quoted... Anyways back on topic, BattleLog is the worst piece of i have ever tried.... i get random crashes for no reason what so ever, but when the game actually works it's alot of fun!
Battlelog is kind of Marmite I think.
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + HP w1907v

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-11-11, 05:17 PM
Philib Philib is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 276
that seems total bs to me

My link
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-11-11, 06:07 PM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,136
Even if it is spyware what is the worst it can do? non of what it does has an affect on you, the information what ever it may be is stored by EA, if it is passed on the results of the information is passed on and not your details personal details, just the data collected.

If I were you i'd buy it and make your own mind up about the game you are the only one who can decide on whether you like it or not. Just do what I did and buy a Russian Key which you can get for around £17.50 now (only paid £13 for mine but prices have gone up)

http://cdkeyshere.co...d-3-cd-key.html

and use the English patch to make it English that way even if you don't like it it's only £17.50 wasted. But even if you don't like the MP thee is still the SP which is ok.
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15-11-11, 06:14 PM
Philib Philib is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 276
I have got a russian key. Sorry if I sounds silly but I would rather just pay and get the proper game rather then messing about with game files.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.