Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Customer Care Forums > Asus UK Customer Care Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-11-17, 01:48 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 14,565
Q-Code 8 Crosshair VI Hero

System is working perfectly, CPU works 100%, Green CPU Ready LED is lit, Memory works 100%, I've done stability tests for both, MemTest etc... and no errors, Gaming for hours on end with no problems, But for some reason the Q-Code indicator on the board changes from 24 to 8 after 2 hours of usage and I have no idea why as everything works perfectly, Nothing happens when it changes, It just changes and nothing is interrupted I can keep doing what I'm doing, AIO is finger tightened and not over done, All required PSU cables are secured, Idle temps are in the mid 20's, Load temps are in the mid 40's, Tried with memory at varying speeds and CPU overclocked and at stock, All completely fine and stable, No BSODS, No black screens or hangs etc...

Anyone seen this before ?

Specs -

Asus Crosshair VI Hero - Latest bios

AMD 1800X @ Stock

16GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600MHz - Ran at 2133, 2400, 2666, 3000 and 3200, All work fine but nothing higher which I'm ok with, Currently running at stock bios settings.


EDIT

After reading around apparently there are a lot of people with this exact mystery on this board, Q-Code 8 but nothing happens.


EDIT 2

So I decided to keep poking around the forums and saw a post by the Asus employee elmor which was in answer to a question about being able to disable the Q-Code display -

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post671222

Anyway I downloaded the file, Disabled the Q-Code display, Re-enabled it literally 1 second later with the enable file and the Q-Code was back to 24.

Very odd.

__________________
If you think about it, VR is free unreal estate.....

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-17, 09:25 AM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is offline
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,251
There should be a coloured LED under the Q-Code display. What colour is it for you? I had it a few times myself. For me it was orange, which means RAM instability. Downclocked to 3066 and it never happened again.

EDIT: should've read more carefully. As long as your system doesn't freeze I wouldn't be too worried about it. Weird fix as well.
__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / Corsair ML240L RGB / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-17, 09:39 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
There should be a coloured LED under the Q-Code display. What colour is it for you? I had it a few times myself. For me it was orange, which means RAM instability. Downclocked to 3066 and it never happened again.

EDIT: should've read more carefully. As long as your system doesn't freeze I wouldn't be too worried about it. Weird fix as well.
Yeah no lights under the Q-Code display, They all flicker to life then go off once passed the bios, Only 1 x green light about 1 inch to the left of it under the fan headers that reads CPU Ready which is meant to stay on.
__________________
If you think about it, VR is free unreal estate.....

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.