Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Customer Care Forums > Asus UK Customer Care Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-12-17, 02:30 PM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is offline
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,251
Crosshair VI Q-code 8 Orange LED

Lately my system has been randomly crashing quite frequently. As the title says, the system will freeze, and the motherboard will display q-code 8 with the orange LED on, which indicates a RAM problem.

At first, it only happened when I set my memory to 3200MHz. When I downclocked to 3066 it seemed to be fine for a few months. But lately, it started happening again. Yesterday, I downclocked even further to 2933MHz, but it still happens. I'll be playing a game for a few hours, and everything seems fine. Then, all of a sudden, the PC will crash.

Is there anything I can do about it? I just tried upping the DRAM voltage to 1.4v, but I haven't been able to test if that works yet. I also heard that increasing the SOC voltage to 1.2v might help, but I haven't tried it yet.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: I'm using Corsair LPX memory. It's a 2x8GB kit with rated speeds of 3200MHz with CL16. I'm also running the latest BIOS (1701).

__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / Corsair ML240L RGB / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-17, 05:15 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,472
Try upping the SOC a little bit first
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-12-17, 05:31 PM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is offline
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Try upping the SOC a little bit first
Cheers! I've set the SOC voltage to 1.125v for now. If it still crashes, I'll try 1.15. I'm also still running my DRAM at 1.4v @ 2933MHz, which should be fine. If it crashes again, I'll let you guys know.
__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / Corsair ML240L RGB / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-17, 06:35 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,472
If it happens again even with voltage increases I'd say something hardware wise is a problem
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-12-17, 06:58 PM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is offline
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,251
The voltage at 1.125v seemingly makes Rainbow Six Siege crash. I'll try 1.15v.

EDIT: it happens at 1.15v, too. I'll try going back to auto and see how stable it is with just the increased DRAM voltage.

EDIT2: still happens. Either I messed my board up by marginally increasing the SOC voltage (which I doubt), it was bad in the first place or somehow my game install is messed up now.

EDIT3: It doesn't happen in DOOM. Rainbow Six Siege might be to blame for this one. I'll try again tomorrow.
__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / Corsair ML240L RGB / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-12-17, 08:25 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,472
I would try playing a lot of games that are CPU/Memory intensive to see if it can be a problem. Civ/Total War/ or a heavily modded Skyrim would be good choices.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-12-17, 09:48 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 14,565
I actually got he same Q-Code on my CH6 but got no actual problems, the Q-Code stayed at 24 once I upped my memory voltage ever so slightly.
__________________
If you think about it, VR is free unreal estate.....

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-17, 05:24 AM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is offline
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,251
Cheers guys. I'll try a few of those games. I do recall it crashing with Civilization V, but it's never happened with Skyrim + a lot of mods weirdly enough.

I also found a possible fix on the ROG Forums. In the BIOS there's a thing called 'DRAM Current Capacity'. Basically, when the RAM reaches 100% of the maximum current, the system will shut off. The dude on the forums increased it to the maximum of 130%, but I set it to 110% for now. Will report back when I know more.
__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / Corsair ML240L RGB / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-17, 09:39 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,142
Skyrim hardly touches the CPU mate that's why.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-17, 02:10 PM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is offline
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Skyrim hardly touches the CPU mate that's why.
Seems logical, thanks!

I've just updated the BIOS to a beta version with AGESA 1007 (0030), and Siege has stopped crashing. Funnily enough switching to an unstable BIOS fixed some stability issues for me. I haven't been able to get it to crash again, but I'll be trying that today.
__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / Corsair ML240L RGB / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.