Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 15-03-21, 03:59 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 19,937
Nvidia's anti-Ethereum Mining Lock is a Joke, and we aren't laughing

Nvidia broke their own mining lock...



Read more about Nvidia breaking its own RTX 3060 mining lock.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-03-21, 04:27 PM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 358
well i already thought it will be a joke.

but that nvidia was lying so obviously is surprising.

make no mistale they were not only careless, they where LYING about how the lock works!
__________________
2x TR 2950, 1x 3700x, 1x 3900x, 1x 5900x
2x Eizo CG 2730 1x Eizo CS 2740, 1x BenQ PD2700U
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-03-21, 05:39 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 3,203
Someone's going on the dole.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-03-21, 05:55 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 2,230
Decided to try my 3060 Ti (FE)

A "Quick and dirty optimised" setup with just a 60% power limit and memory at 7.7GHz (+900MHz):

EDIT: Checked the translation of original article and realised the good quality screenshot is with the limit on, looks like it can hit ~40MH/s but while consuming a lot more power than it takes the Ti to do more, so I guess the 3060 normal still is quite far off desirable for this use case

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-03-21, 11:16 AM
EyeOfAC EyeOfAC is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 2
I read elsewhere that it will only work if there’s only one GPU in the system and a display must be connected. Windows only and one has to register with Nvidia to access the developer drivers.

Targeting the multi-GPU setups rather than the average consumer seems a better aproach to me. Hope this is what they will do in the long run.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.