Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-03-20, 03:16 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 18,714
All USB ports no longer work on Windows 10

Right. I just installed Nvidia's latest graphics driver, and now all of the USB ports on my system don't work.

So Windows boots, everything looks normal, but the mouse and keyboard don't work. Very bizarre. Unplugging and replugging won't work, and neither will other USB devices.

Have rebooted enough times to get Windows to ask if I want to reboot, enter safe mode etc. The USB ports work on this page. I have told it to uninstall the latest Windows update. I'm not sure if this is an Nvidia issue or a Windows issue.

I don't understand why an update would mess with USB support like this. So bizzare. Will report back if I can fix the issue.

Update 1:

- Uninstalling the latest Windows Update didn't work

Update 2:

- USB ports won't work in safe mode...

Update 3:

- I may need to go nuclear and clean install... I don't need this right now. Thank goodness this is a test system and not my main system.

- Will change graphics cards. Maybe that will work if this is an Nvidia driver issue.

Update 4:

Going Nuclear - Clean Install - Sounds like DLSS 2.0 testing will need to wait

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-03-20, 04:13 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,413
Why not just ddu the Nvidia driver instead of a clean install?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-03-20, 04:20 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 18,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Why not just ddu the Nvidia driver instead of a clean install?
Try to use DDU without a mouse and keyboard. They don't work in safe mode either.

The clean install has gotten the mouse/keyboard working again. Thankfully. Ugh...
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-03-20, 04:50 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,413
You didn't mention it didn't. Just said it worked in safe mode so didn't know

Glad it's working
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-04-20, 09:57 AM
Sert45 Sert45 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
Try to use DDU without a mouse and keyboard. They don't work in safe mode either.

The clean install has gotten the mouse/keyboard working again. Thankfully. Ugh...
This maybe can be tried.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-04-20, 01:45 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 5,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sert45 View Post
This maybe can be tried.





Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-04-20, 10:22 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post




it was only a month old...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-04-20, 03:17 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 5,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
it was only a month old...
So? The thread had still been unactive for over a month... Plus the poster basically said WYP to do what he had already said he had done.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-04-20, 03:20 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 18,714
Does this thread really need to change into one about the definition of a "Necropost"?
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-04-20, 04:08 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,921
Well, on another note, you could set up Barrier on the machine if you ever decide to try again - so you could have mouse and keyboard through another PC on the same network.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 660p 1TB + MX500 2TB - HE-4XX w/ Topping D30+A30
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.