Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-10-17, 10:56 AM
TuN TuN is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 35
Ryzen 1600 3.8 + 3200mhz ram OC

Hi.
My gear:

Ryzen 1600 @ 3.8 Ghz
Corsair LPX Vengeance 3200mhz
MSI X370 Gaming Plus
EVGA Supernova G3 550W
Zotac GTX 1060 3GB
Dark Rock Pro 3 CPU Cooler
m.2 Crucial Mx300 525GB


Now on 3.8 Ghz it seems pretty stable if I manage to get into Windows, sometimes it boots 5 times to get past POST for some reason, I'm pretty sure it doesn't like 3200mhz on RAM ( the board supports the exact ram at those speeds though )

All the voltages are currently set to AUTO, I'll tweak them when I'll get a stable OC with AUTO voltages.

When I put the cpu at 3.9 or 4.0 ghz, the system won't boot. If I'm lucky, It'll boot on 3.9, but crash immediately when I run Aida64 Stress Test ( BSOD ).

The RAM is listed as 1.35v and set to AUTO in BIOS, but appears to be running at 1.344v, could this be the issue for sometimes not booting and possibly not being able to reach more than 3.8ghz?

Anyway, here's the 5 minute stress test on 3.8ghz CPU and 3.2ghz RAM, any help would be greatly appreciated.


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-10-17, 11:41 AM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is offline
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,291
Could you try setting the voltages manually? Anything up to 1.45v should be relatively safe according to AMD, but I personally wouldn't go higher than 1.4v.

You can try to see if 3.9 or 4GHz is stable at 1.4v, and then gradually lower the voltage from there until it's unstable. If it's still unstable at 1.4v, you've probably just lost the silicon lottery, meaning that your particular CPU just can't do 3.9/4GHz. Also, your motherboard isn't super high-end, so it might not clock as high as some of the more expensive motherboards.

TTL made a video on overclocking aeons ago. It's originally made for socket 1155, but not much has changed tbh, so most of it still applies today:

__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX @ 3066MHz / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-10-17, 11:44 AM
TuN TuN is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 35
Should I just set the Vcore to 1.4 and nothing else ?

I see in your signature you have the same CPU and the same memory, what's the overclock you have achieved so far ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-10-17, 12:00 PM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is offline
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuN View Post
Should I just set the Vcore to 1.4 and nothing else ?

I see in your signature you have the same CPU and the same memory, what's the overclock you have achieved so far ?
I'd start with just setting the vcore to 1.4, yeah. And then go on from there. I would also probably set the memory voltage to 1.35 just to be safe. After you've done that, you should stress test for a while to see if it's stable (I personally use OCCT). If the temps are too high, try lowering the voltage a bit, but you have a beefy cooler so it should be fine. Do note that I'm by no means an overclocking expert, but these are pretty much the basics.

Personally, I haven't attempted a CPU overclock quite yet. I'm still running the stock cooler, and I want to upgrade to a better cooler before I attempt to OC properly, even though the stock cooler should be adequate. I might try to a 3.6GHz OC at a low voltage to see if I've hit the silicon jackpot, but I doubt it tbh.

I do run the RAM at 3066MHz. 3200 wasn't fully stable for me. It would boot and run fine for 3~4 hours and then it would do a really theatrical crash showing all kinds of QCode errors. Lowered the frequency to 3066 and it's been working fine ever since.

EDIT: also make sure you're running the latest BIOS on your motherboard.
__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX @ 3066MHz / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-10-17, 10:35 AM
TuN TuN is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 35
Ok I've tried 3.9 ghz cpu and 3066 ram, with "Try It!" instead of XMP, and some slower timings. Seems that it likes the 3066mhz ram more, it doesn't reboot 2-3 times like it usually does when the ram is 3.2ghz.

Anyway it doesn't like the 3.9ghz cpu frequency. When I run the Aida64 stability test, I get this error:



And when I run the OCCT test, my computer freezes. Could the auto voltages be the reason for this? Since the temps are low even on 3.9ghz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-10-17, 11:06 AM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is offline
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,291
Clock speed doesn't affect temperatures nearly as much as the voltage does. That's why your OC is unstable, even though the temperatures are low. Your maximum voltage was 1.264v. That's WAY too low for 3.9GHz. There's no way that's ever going to be stable.

Again, I'd try manually setting the voltage to 1.4 and then gradually lowering the voltage until it's not stable anymore during stress testing. It's a long process (since you should ideally stress-test overnight), but worth it.
__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX @ 3066MHz / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-10-17, 12:06 PM
TuN TuN is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 35
You are correct. Until now I was sure that the AUTO voltages are completely fail-safe, and I was gonna use them as absolute maximum, and then lower the voltages as much as possible without getting BSOD/crash.

That's how it looks now, CPU voltage set to 1.35v in BIOS.



Seems way too hot for daily usage, system didn't want to boot at 1.4v set in BIOS for 4.0ghz though. And I have to keep in mind that the GPU was idling during the test, which would probably add a few degrees to it anyway.

The temps were mostly below 63 degrees celsius, it just spiked to 70 for some reason during the test.

Is Aida64 showing normal clocks, or is it a bug? 4010mhz, while being set as 39 x 100 in BIOS.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-10-17, 03:00 PM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is offline
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,291
70°C isn't that hot to be honest. The maximum working temperature of Ryzen is 95°C. Obviously that would really damage your CPU in the long run, but anything below 80°C should be relatively safe (I wouldn't want to go much higher, though). If you're not comfortable with those temps, I'd probably just stick with the 3.8 OC, it's very unlikely that you're gonna see a noticeable performance increase at 3.9.

That being said, it's very important that you properly stress test your overclocks, even at 3.8. A 5 minute stress test isn't enough to tell if your OC is stable. You're gonna want to stress test for at least a couple of hours, but ideally you'll want to do it overnight (e.g. you turn it on when you go to bed, and stop it when you wake up). If you want to make sure it's 100% stable, some might even tell you to stress test for 12+ hours.

I'm not sure about those clock speeds in AIDA64. I'd personally use HWMonitor to check temperatures and clock speeds during stress tests.
__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX @ 3066MHz / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-10-17, 09:49 PM
TuN TuN is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 35
You are probably correct, and it seems that the temps and voltage needed even for 3.9 ghz compared to 3.8 ghz are too big.

I'm also gonna stick with 3.066 ghz ram, since it boots every time, unlike the 3.2 ghz.

Also don't really like running 24/7 on 1.38v at 3.9 ghz.

Damn, was hoping my Dark Rock Pro 3 would make it pretty easy to reach 4.0, since some people are hitting 3.8 ghz on stock cooler.
Well at least it'll keep my CPU cool, and should last longer even at much lower noise.

How about the BIOS functions?
I had high DPC latency and kind of managed to get it under control to some point with disabling some of the BIOS stuff and tweaking the drivers.

I have all those DISABLED at the moment:
Core C6 State
Opcache Control
IOMMU
Spread Spectrum
Relaxed EDC throttling
AMD Cool'n'Quiet
SVM Mode

Didn't find the function to disable HPET ( High Precision Event Timer ), I guess the motherboard doesn't have the option to disable it.
Plus I didn't find the Fast boot option as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.