Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-07-14, 01:34 PM
ShaunB-91 ShaunB-91 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southport
Posts: 4,907
GPU Only Utilizing 60%?

Hey fellas,

So I sold my 'MSI HD7970 Twin FrozR III' on eBay after picking up Mr. Kambos GTX 780 but the guy I have sold to is having some issues which I have no idea about myself.

He claims the card is only running at 60% usage during benchmarks and games, I can't say I have every benchmarked the card, I also didn't no it had an OC switch which he says is not working either...

Only thing I could think of is that the drivers were still left behind from his HD7950 but he tells me he has run the application to remove them anyway.

Anybody got any ideas and I will send him the link to this thread?

Cheers.

__________________
All Apple Everything
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-14, 01:48 PM
MadShadow MadShadow is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 3,282
All I can think of is that it may be throttling, but that seems unlikely. Really not sure
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-14, 01:50 PM
ShaunB-91 ShaunB-91 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southport
Posts: 4,907
His specs btw if I remember right are an i7 4770(K?) 16GB RAM and an OCZ (Ugh oh) 650W PSU.
__________________
All Apple Everything
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-14, 01:55 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
what drivers is it running and get him to give you a screenshot of it (the whole driver config thing).
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-07-14, 01:59 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
Sure it isn't vsync?

It's most likely software/driver related.

What kind of frames per second is he getting, and what games/benchmarks specifically?

Low usage is only really an issue if it means you're getting abnormally low frame rates too. Ask him to compare his FPS with other reviews and see how big the differences are, if there even are any.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-14, 02:07 PM
RamboOC RamboOC is offline
Suspended By Request of Police
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 994
It could be vsync
it could also be a driver issue
His gpu might be running in x8 mode or less (ask him what slot is he using)
His ram might be running in single channel mode
his cpu might be throttling.
ask him what games is he using because some are very badly optimized like watchdogs
ask him what benchmarks is he using (msi kombustor and furmark dont utalise the gpu fully if low settings applied, also he could be using 3dmark cpu benchmarks..
it could also be that his hdd is too slow (damaged) but i doubt that.
his OCZ psu could be doing this, i had bad experience with OCZ psu, and from what i seen everyone here stays away from OCZ psu's
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-07-14, 02:07 PM
ShaunB-91 ShaunB-91 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southport
Posts: 4,907
I've sent him the link to the thread so he will hopefully send me some details or sign up. Not sure what benchmarks he's using but he did mention furmark so I said be careful because I've heard it's too much for the GPU to handle but don't quote me on it because it might of only been one specific card.

I think its drivers because the game rocked games like BF4 for me maxed out.
__________________
All Apple Everything
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-07-14, 03:05 PM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by RamboOC View Post
It could be vsync
His gpu might be running in x8 mode or less (ask him what slot is he using)
His ram might be running in single channel mode
As far as I'm aware single channel mode barely affects performance if not at all.
It certainly doesn't cause a bottleneck.

And again running in x8 is not going to restrict that performance.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-07-14, 03:37 PM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,136
Someone made a thread about this exact same problem, also a 7950 I think.
Can't remember what the thread was called or whether he found a fix.
But thought i'd mention it incase anyone else remembers it or can find it to see if there is anything in there that could help.

If I find that thread i'll post a link to it in here.

EDIT

Not the thread I was thinking of but there is this one.

http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthr...ng+benchmarks/

Can't find the one I was thinking of
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-07-14, 04:11 PM
RamboOC RamboOC is offline
Suspended By Request of Police
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post
Someone made a thread about this exact same problem, also a 7950 I think.
Can't remember what the thread was called or whether he found a fix.
But thought i'd mention it incase anyone else remembers it or can find it to see if there is anything in there that could help.

If I find that thread i'll post a link to it in here.

EDIT

Not the thread I was thinking of but there is this one.

http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthr...ng+benchmarks/

Can't find the one I was thinking of
when i made that thread, the CPU usage has not went above 80% and same applies to GPU usage which bearly reached 60%, yet games stuttered, But i think that by overclocking and adding voltage to the cpu the stuttering decreased a bit, i think this was because of the terrible amd architecture that was made for multithreading yet my cpu only had 2 cores. This does not apply to the 4770k
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.