Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics - Other
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-09-14, 12:40 AM
cmgver cmgver is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Help with gtx 690 PCIe v3.0 x16 (8.0 Gb/s) @ x16 (2.5 Gb/s)

Hey guys i have two questions with a guy i found in internet, he has one gtx 690 and cpu 3930k like me, but

1- in hwinfo his 690 says: PCIe v3.0 x16 (8.0 Gb/s) @ x16 (8 Gb/s) but mine: PCIe v3.0 x16 (8.0 Gb/s) @ x16 (2.5 Gb/s). How can i fix it?

2- His CPU is VID is around 1.361 V, and mine between 0.8 V to 1.1 V, is this normal?

Any ideas?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-14, 02:02 AM
agent_x007's Avatar
agent_x007 agent_x007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 139
1. U have to make GPU do something, for PCI-e to "kick into" higher gear (ie. PCI-e 3.0 mode).
2. He's probably got fixed Vcore voltage set in UEFI/BIOS (with C1E, EIST, etc. off).
If you're using energy saving options/settings from Intel (mentioned above), dVID will lower/increase with Load on Cores. So it's normal (dVID = Dynamic VID).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-14, 11:31 AM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
I assuming it's actually some kind of glitch on both boards.

The 3930K doesn't support PCIE 3.0, whilst most of the 2011 motherboards do, so I think there's a fairly common glitch that it reports incorrect readings on things like HWInfo and CPU-z/GPU-z.

I've got a 3960X and a GTX690 myself, so I'll check next time I'm on my desktop what mine reports.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-14, 02:12 PM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
I assuming it's actually some kind of glitch on both boards.

The 3930K doesn't support PCIE 3.0, whilst most of the 2011 motherboards do, so I think there's a fairly common glitch that it reports incorrect readings on things like HWInfo and CPU-z/GPU-z.

I've got a 3960X and a GTX690 myself, so I'll check next time I'm on my desktop what mine reports.
The 3930k and 3960X most definitely do support PCI-E 3.0

The GTX 690 runs straight out the box @PCI-E 3.0 on both these CPUs by default.

Other NVidia cards need their hack to turn PCI-E 3.0 on.

AMD cards run @PCI-E 3.0 on these CPUs by default.

I also have a pair of GTX 690s running on a 3960X unfortunately I am not on that PC at the moment.

Edit

Here they are running PCI-E 3.0 straight out the box on a 3960X

__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:46 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.