Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #321  
Old 22-01-20, 08:24 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,814
Maybe its because Bios is set to Gen 4 and risers do not support that? You need to force PCIe to Gen 3 and not auto.

Must say, as overpriced as it was, this RoG riser seems a pretty solid cable.

Reply With Quote
  #322  
Old 22-01-20, 11:35 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,349
It's pcie 3 dude. Ryzen gen 1.

It's probably a power draw issue or I damaged it.

Doesn't matter. I had the phanteks here (just need the bracket, it's currently propped up on a evga powerlink) and I'm happy.

The phanteks also looks about a hundred times nicer too.

Love the Corsair rgbs. Really good fun to watch and adds lots of character.

I had to buy a new win 10 key so I'll get that on later as I have a mad busy day coming up now.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old 22-01-20, 11:38 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
It's pcie 3 dude. Ryzen gen 1.

It's probably a power draw issue or I damaged it.

Doesn't matter. I had the phanteks here (just need the bracket, it's currently propped up on a evga powerlink) and I'm happy.

The phanteks also looks about a hundred times nicer too.

Love the Corsair rgbs. Really good fun to watch and adds lots of character.

I had to buy a new win 10 key so I'll get that on later as I have a mad busy day coming up now.
ah thought it was a later gen Rizen. Phantecs one was my first choice, but availability and cost meant I just went with the RoG. No complaints yet but still early days.
Reply With Quote
  #324  
Old 22-01-20, 12:08 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,349
The phanteks was really cheap here. I guess OCUK had loads.

I gotta say I'm really appreciating the boost of new hardware. The board boots instantly. I benched CB R15 last night (because it's quick to do) and I scored 2478. It's 20 % faster than my 14 core stock.

Had to buy a new pro license too. Paid £7. Key is waiting but yeah, tons to do today first.

Oh and I need to sort out the Aorus RGB on the southbridge.

Will pick up the bracket on Saturday. Oh and I ordered some paint for touch ups because the edges of the acrylic are like carving knives.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #325  
Old 22-01-20, 12:46 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
The phanteks was really cheap here. I guess OCUK had loads.

I gotta say I'm really appreciating the boost of new hardware. The board boots instantly. I benched CB R15 last night (because it's quick to do) and I scored 2478. It's 20 % faster than my 14 core stock.

Had to buy a new pro license too. Paid £7. Key is waiting but yeah, tons to do today first.

Oh and I need to sort out the Aorus RGB on the southbridge.

Will pick up the bracket on Saturday. Oh and I ordered some paint for touch ups because the edges of the acrylic are like carving knives.
the 210mm one is 599nok so lets call it £55
Reply With Quote
  #326  
Old 22-01-20, 01:23 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,349
Crikey. I paid £35? £37? Delivered.

Ribbon is so nice compared to the cm one.

Can't wait to play with NVME raid lol.

Very tired today but very happy. My care worker just came and it booted from cold perfectly.

That Byski block was one of the best buys I've ever made. £35 and arrived within a week.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old 22-01-20, 01:35 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Crikey. I paid £35? £37? Delivered.

Ribbon is so nice compared to the cm one.

Can't wait to play with NVME raid lol.

Very tired today but very happy. My care worker just came and it booted from cold perfectly.

That Byski block was one of the best buys I've ever made. £35 and arrived within a week.
Yeah the Phanteks ribbon looked like really good value and quality. But that cost was just too much when I compared that an extra £5 would get me the Rog one which is a beefy durable cable and 240mm not 210mm
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 22-01-20, 01:44 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,349
Yeah at that price I'd have probably got the Lian Li tbh.

I checked my orders and yeah, it was £37. That's why I got it because it was cheap.

The cm one is like an old SCSI cable. Bendable and so on but very stiff. PATA cables on 100mhz and 133 were like it too.

The Phanteks one is like rubber strips. It also has a lock in for the slot. Just soo much better quality and looks.

Bummed I don't have the bracket here but tbh I've got so much work to do it doesn't matter. I'm over mum's on Saturday cause it's my birthday and I gotta come back Monday so I'll just grab it then.

But yeah I've got lots of partitioning, formatting and downloading to do. About 800gb of game downloads.

Once I've got it solid on software I can play with NVME raid.

I can also change the boot picture apparently. Interesting....
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old 23-01-20, 03:23 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,349
I almost feel bad about posting today. About my stupid crap and rig.

I spent last night very emotional. I've been a bit emotional lately any way due to a med change, but hearing about Tom's sister hit me hard. I won't get into what I was thinking about, but it just made me cry. I've lost many loved ones and I've been in a situation where I lost an uncle, then 4 months later lost an aunt. I didn't have enough time to deal with one, before the other one happened and I was back to being messed up.

So yeah, I feel really truly awful about what has happened, especially given the circumstances. I know there is nothing I can say, but I just wanted Tom and every one here to know that my thoughts are with him. And, that me working on my rig is very much a distraction right now.

The internet is a funny thing. You become close to people, yet at the same time a million miles away. It's great for chatting and having fun, but deep down these are not really real friends. They don't know much about your life, and can't really do anything when something goes wrong. I've been on the internet since 1997, and I've met many truly wonderful people without even really knowing who they are. With Tom though you get to see him, to hear him and to listen to him.

Now yeah, I don't have a clue where he lives or who he hangs out with but I know him, and that makes me feel terrible sadness for him and what has happened.

This is something internet friends don't usually say or do. They just say "sorry to hear about that" and that's where it ends. However, I just thought it was high time that someone stepped up and said "hey, I do care and it has affected me and I am absolutely gutted for you". And I am. Truly.

Any way now I've said that and put it out there I will carry on with my rig. With Tom and his stuff on my mind.

I've decided that I am definitely going to RGB the GPU block. With the RAM and southbridge now going nuts the GPU looks, well, "turned off". Like, everything else looks alive in there apart from the GPU. Thankfully EK do a stiff 100mm strip like this one.



And that's a good start. There's a few ways I can make that fit and work, but I haven't got that far yet in my thoughts. I just ordered it, and hey that's a start.

The HDDs are all set up, put in order and etc.



And the Phison (Pioneer) NVMEs are screaming.



NVME RAID. Not happening.

I installed the RAID drivers and so on. Tried to run the app but couldn't log in, and that is because you need to install drivers onto each storage device/controller. The problem is they are all called the same thing.

I went into BIOS and enabled NVME RAID after installing it and my boot drive vanished. IE, if you do use NVME RAID you lose any NVME device into the black hole with it. Meaning that really if you want to use it you basically give up all other means of NVME storage. At least that is how I can see it. Plus you lose TRIM support and so on, and I ended up borking my install but thankfully managed to repair it. I'd have been super miffed if I spent two days installing stuff and sorting crap out to have to do it all over again.

So I'ma leave it for now.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 24-01-20, 05:55 PM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 4,101
Nice build, sorry to hear the meds aren't working too well. Keep on going
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.