Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 29-07-10, 12:10 AM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Here you go.

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Asus-...-VGA-Micro-ATX

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29-07-10, 12:12 AM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='7up'
Having said that... Doesn't the fact that it boots perfectly well off a CMOS reset (but not after that) indicate that it is perhaps a more minor problem?

Gah, who the hell knows. So tired of this! Just want to play my beloved games..
What it suggests to me is a fried CMOS chip. Or something broken somewhere (a short from the sound of it). Check out the second mobo I linked you to. Poific. Nuff'n special but has everything you need.

EDIT. GOD DAMMIT. I wish Scan would remove out of stock items.. I shall continue my search.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29-07-10, 12:21 AM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
This would work.

http://www.kikatek.com/product_info....ucts_id=130193
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29-07-10, 12:25 AM
7up 7up is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London UK, near the riots.
Posts: 56
I appreciate that, man. I'll order one tomorrow if I have no success with the 'total' unplug CMOS reset.

Perhaps this is another thread- but given my specs, and the fact I am keen to OC, what is a decent mobo for up to £60/100USD?

Wifi is not a requirement, and I won't be making use of any features that incorporate hardware I don't already own.

Edit: Cool, thanks pal, I'll check that out!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29-07-10, 12:30 AM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Aw poo are you in the USA?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 29-07-10, 12:33 AM
7up 7up is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London UK, near the riots.
Posts: 56
No, I'm based in London, so pounds sterling is jolly good
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 29-07-10, 12:34 AM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Ah ok. I'll see what else I can dig up TBH with a 4870x2 you can't really crossfire it and expect it to work any way, so a micro ATX with 4 DIMM slots and a 16x PCIE slot will do you well.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 29-07-10, 12:37 AM
killablade killablade is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Leeuwarden, FR. The Netherlands
Posts: 1,988
If you don't mind ordering from the USA, here's a nice motherboard that should overclock pretty well.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131377&cm_re=asus_p5q13-131-377Product

It's $125 but you will get $20 back from mail-in rebate so in the end it will only cost you $105.
__________________
My *finished* build - KingPenguin
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 29-07-10, 12:38 AM
7up 7up is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London UK, near the riots.
Posts: 56
Cool, ok! I'm crashing out now but will check out your research when I get up after giving the P5K one last try.

On the plus side, the airflow situation is extremely sweet and the rig looks wicked- I'll post some pics to show what I was going on about last time

edit: thanks killablade, I'll check that out tomorrow too!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 29-07-10, 10:20 AM
7up 7up is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London UK, near the riots.
Posts: 56
Backflips! BACKFLIPS, I say!!

OK guys, seems I found the problem in the first thing I tried this morning. (isn't that always the way?)

1. I tried booting with the soundcard (XFI xtremegamer) unplugged. Success. Feared for toasted card.

2. Turned off, Taped back a few unused stray looking wires previously lurking near soundcard, and plugged it back in securely. Booted. Success!

Still a little terrified it will revert, but 10 resets so far and still no dreaded Chassis Intruded error.

PHEW!

I would be lost without you guys *wipes away tear*, thanks for your help and advice.

I'll add the fix "check hardware connections to mobo" to my first post. Hopefully it will help someone else with an Asus mobo suffering from these issues.

Now all I need to do is learn how to OC. Shouldn't take me more than 10 mins, right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:08 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.