Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-02-18, 12:03 PM
SebastianAltena's Avatar
SebastianAltena SebastianAltena is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 42
Unhappy Intel 4770k BSODs after 7 to 10 h of Scrypt(squared) CPU mining

My 4770k BSODs like a clockwork every 7-10 hours, everything is on auto exempt vCore at 1.080v.
I have tried switching clocks to manual, lowering cpu core and cpu ring multiplier to 35x, increasing cpu voltage to 1.1 and cpu ring to 1.15, I have also tried lowering memory clock from 2400mhz to 1800mhz, nothing changes. Only thing I haven't changed is SA, digital and analog I/O voltages, I don't want to touch them before I fully understand what they do.
I have tried everything I can think of, and I don't get why it crashes.

Crash Dump Analysis provided by OSR Open Systems Resources, Inc. (http://www.osr.com)
Online Crash Dump Analysis Service
See http://www.osronline.com for more information
Windows 7 Kernel Version 7601 (Service Pack 1) MP (8 procs) Free x64
Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
Built by: 7601.18247.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.130828-1532
Machine Name:
Kernel base = 0xfffff800`02815000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`02a586d0
Debug session time: Wed Feb 7 22:39:23.918 2018 (UTC - 5:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 1:52:50.543
************************************************** *****************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
************************************************** *****************************

WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)
A fatal hardware error has occurred. Parameter 1 identifies the type of error
source that reported the error. Parameter 2 holds the address of the
WHEA_ERROR_RECORD structure that describes the error conditon.
Arguments:
Arg1: 0000000000000000, Machine Check Exception
Arg2: fffffa800daaa028, Address of the WHEA_ERROR_RECORD structure.
Arg3: 00000000be000000, High order 32-bits of the MCi_STATUS value.
Arg4: 000000000100110a, Low order 32-bits of the MCi_STATUS value.

Debugging Details:
------------------

TRIAGER: Could not open triage file : e:\dump_analysis\program\triage\modclass.ini, error 2

BUGCHECK_STR: 0x124_GenuineIntel

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: WIN7_DRIVER_FAULT

PROCESS_NAME: cpuminer.exe

CURRENT_IRQL: f

STACK_TEXT:
fffff880`0254ab58 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KeBugCheckEx


STACK_COMMAND: kb

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: GenuineIntel

IMAGE_NAME: GenuineIntel

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 0

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0x124_GenuineIntel_PROCESSOR_CACHE

BUCKET_ID: X64_0x124_GenuineIntel_PROCESSOR_CACHE

Followup: MachineOwner
---------

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-18, 02:17 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,057
Ran a proper memtest? I would start there. Then reseat the RAM etc.

Whoah.. Hang on a minute...

PROCESS_NAME: cpuminer.exe

Firstly I would make sure you are not on a website that mines in the background. You can get a plugin to block that. I would then install, and run, a full scan of MalwareBytes anti malware. Your CPU is being mined on, unless that is you doing it.

https://malwaretips.com/blogs/cpu-miner-removal/

Yup you have a trojan ragging the crap out of your PC.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-18, 02:39 PM
SebastianAltena's Avatar
SebastianAltena SebastianAltena is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Ran a proper memtest? I would start there. Then reseat the RAM etc.

Whoah.. Hang on a minute...

PROCESS_NAME: cpuminer.exe

Firstly I would make sure you are not on a website that mines in the background. You can get a plugin to block that. I would then install, and run, a full scan of MalwareBytes anti malware. Your CPU is being mined on, unless that is you doing it.

https://malwaretips.com/blogs/cpu-miner-removal/

Yup you have a trojan ragging the crap out of your PC.
I did ran memtest for 16 h without issues.
I'm running cpu miner when I'm not using my pc, to mine verium reserve, that is the point, I wanna mine overnight but my pc crashes after about 7h.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-18, 06:14 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 910
What are your other components? How good is your cooling? If GPU overheats it can shutdown PC. Older ones did that. I had a problem with MBO chipset overheating on and crashing system. What is your PSU? It may overheat after 7 hours and shut down. Please put your rig specs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-18, 07:54 PM
SebastianAltena's Avatar
SebastianAltena SebastianAltena is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avet View Post
What are your other components? How good is your cooling? If GPU overheats it can shutdown PC. Older ones did that. I had a problem with MBO chipset overheating on and crashing system. What is your PSU? It may overheat after 7 hours and shut down. Please put your rig specs.
cooler: cooler master hyper 212 evo, cpu temp is floating around 60-65 under full load.
Gpu: Asus dc2 gtx770, I'm not mining with gpu, and it works fine in games.
Psu corsair tx650 from 2012, fan doesn't even spin up, it's cold to the touch, pc pulls 150w from wall while mining.
Modbo: msi z87-g45, I don't know how to get vrm and chipset temps.

My pc is generally stable, I gamed on it for over 4h with gpu at full load (uncapped frame rate) and converted 1080 videos for 4 to 5 h without any issues, but my cpu won't overclock to more than 4.0ghz on 1.2V so I kept it at stock.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-18, 08:59 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 910
It looks ok. But if you say your CPU isn't a good overclocker it might be that is bad silicon, and something in that mining load is choking it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-18, 10:36 PM
SebastianAltena's Avatar
SebastianAltena SebastianAltena is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avet View Post
It looks ok. But if you say your CPU isn't a good overclocker it might be that is bad silicon, and something in that mining load is choking it.
That would be my guess, I just tried bumping up ring multiplier to 40x and it crashed within minutes with same 124 error code. However lowering cpu ring multiplier to 30x and increasing ring voltage to 1.2 didn't do anything, It's really frustrating.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:59 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.