Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-02-18, 07:43 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 313
Is this likely to be dead?

Hey, so I picked up some used RAM for my new build. I haven't got a CPU so I have no way of testing it yet. However, upon inspection it looks like there is a damaged component on one of the four modules.

Is it likely that this module is just going to be dead?


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-18, 08:08 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,133
is it not just a bit muck?
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-18, 08:51 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobM View Post
is it not just a bit muck?


I'm pretty sure it's broken
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-18, 08:53 PM
g0tn0fans g0tn0fans is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fanø -Denmark
Posts: 9
thats the solder mask of the ceramic resistor that came off. You might still be good but it might be a F* up.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-18, 08:55 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0tn0fans View Post
thats the solder mask of the ceramic resistor that came off. You might still be good but it might be a F* up.
It's literally the only bank of components on that side so I'm assuming it's circuitry for the controller. If it doesn't work I'll try bridging it, if not I have no idea where I'd find a matching 4gb module
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-18, 08:56 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,133
It might be alright, if you can get a hold of some cheap low end board n cpu to test before using maybe?
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-18, 09:31 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 313
I should have a CPU by the weekend to test it with. Either way a lovely gentleman has offered to replace the caps for me
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-18, 09:39 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,133
nice 1
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-18, 10:10 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,354
looks like shoddy soldering to me, but usable? If it works, maybe a good coating of ladies clear nail varnish might extend its life?

Could be wrong. I use it on my cpu to protect the chips from Metal TIM. lasted me a long time and still no issues with naked die.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.