Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-01-19, 02:00 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,378
HDD problem

Got an external drive that windows refuses to see anymore, tried 2 PCs and its the same deal.
Trouble shooting so far:
  1. Removed the drive from the enclosure and treated as an internal drive PC will not boot.
  2. Set the sata port to hot swap-able PC will not boot.
  3. Remove drive PC boots can see all connected drives. (issue drive not connected)
  4. With PC on, removed drive E and can see it vanish from explorer.
  5. With PC on, connect issue drive and it does not get picked up.
When I connect the power I can feel things inside do their thing and the drive makes the usual sound I expect and the drive warms a little, indicating its not a power problem
Disk management does not see it.
Explorer does not see it
PC refuses to even boot with it connected, despite there being "NO" OS on that drive.
Ruled PC, enclosure and cables.

I need to access it as there is important data on it.

Any suggestions?

__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-01-19, 03:12 PM
trawetSluaP's Avatar
trawetSluaP trawetSluaP is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 525
Not sure if it's related but last time I had an issue where a drive wouldn't show up I had to use a windows installation disc to reformat the drive.

Worked fine afterwards.
__________________
Enthoo Elite | i9-7900X | Rampage VI Extreme | Dominator Platinum 32GB | RTX 2080 FE | 960 Pro 512GB, 840 Evo 250GB x 2 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2 | PG279Q, MX27AQ | Custom Watercooling Loop + Aquaero 6 XT

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-01-19, 03:51 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,789
I'm going out on a limb here, as this is way out of my area of "expertise"... But due to the amount of trouble shooting you've done etc, can't it unfortunately not be the case of the drive have been corrupted and therefore not working, as in showing up?...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-01-19, 05:25 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post
I'm going out on a limb here, as this is way out of my area of "expertise"... But due to the amount of trouble shooting you've done etc, can't it unfortunately not be the case of the drive have been corrupted and therefore not working, as in showing up?...
I have a feeling it may well be a field drive, whilst the PC is shutdown each night this drive is not and the power was cut at the fuse panel and the drives not worked since.
looks like despite it being under surge protection socket it must have spiked.
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-01-19, 05:32 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,479
If you've got an oscilloscope nearby (A multimeter would do) you could power it up and see if the traces/pins from the controller board are active or have continuity, this should let you know if anything has burnt out(No signals) or shorted(continuity on separate pin pairs). Usually the connection to the motor is exposed solder connections on the bottom of the HDD so that'd be an easy place to start. Then if you know it's the logic board that's broken and not the discs you should be able to find a replacement for it online.

Edit: There's still a reasonable chance some data corruptuion occured and maybe filesystem corruption which would also cause the drive to not appear in Explorer (But it would still in windows Disk Management), though you can get software tools for fixing errors with stuff like that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.