Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-06-18, 09:43 AM
demonking's Avatar
demonking demonking is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 938
Is my Rig dying?

So I need opinions,
My rig has been playing up recently, acting very strange. I am inclined to think its windows but i wanna see what you guys think.
Boots are weird and buggy, all sorts here sometimes it wont load the lock screen properly, sometimes it boots like its on an old IDE drive (Super slow) and then all of a sudden its like the SSD kicks in. Sometimes things just don't auto start and the PC hangs.
Random new hardware noises but nothing installs and no evidence
Shutdowns are not working right, it'll either shutdown to the lock screen and then wont go any further, it'll close down windows but then not power off.

I am wondering if its windows but she is an old girl and i moved cases a few weeks ago so I am also on the fence of have i killed it?
I've re-installed windows, swapped out Avast, registry checks, boot checks, reset bios to factory standard, re-seated everything and I'm running outta ideas. I'm inclined to go back to windows 7 to see what happens but I'm open to suggestions, Please

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-06-18, 11:10 AM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,690
it could be your PSU not giving your mobo clean power.
have you checked your PSU for dust!!!

i had issues with one of my rigs a few weeks ago when i swapped the PSU about. the PSU had to be turned upside-down in the new case... this caused all of the built up dust and fluff to fall onto various electrical components in itself and my power draws instantly were affected.

just a wild guess.
__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-06-18, 12:14 PM
demonking's Avatar
demonking demonking is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post
it could be your PSU not giving your mobo clean power.
have you checked your PSU for dust!!!

i had issues with one of my rigs a few weeks ago when i swapped the PSU about. the PSU had to be turned upside-down in the new case... this caused all of the built up dust and fluff to fall onto various electrical components in itself and my power draws instantly were affected.

just a wild guess.
Good shout ill have a look. Doubtful as it's. Brand new psu but it's worth a try
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-06-18, 10:35 PM
spolsh spolsh is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
Things to try, as to me it sounds like it could be a disk problem -

different SATA cable (assuming it's SATA ??)
different SATA port (assuming it's SATA again)
different disk if you got one, even try an old HDD just to see if it behaves correctly ?
Find out with crystal disk or something if there is any reported problem with the disk.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-06-18, 10:50 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,086
If it were an platter drive, I would say it sounds like it is dying. The rest of the system still should be good.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX850-H110i-MSI 1070-Coolermast H500-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-06-18, 11:38 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,553
If your on the May/June update of windows 10 then I'm in the same boat, nothing but trouble slow disk then ramps up to full speed (im in raid 0 ssd)... Also the hot weather kicked in here in May/June, not sure about where you are but if your running overclocked and you got high temps, trying dialling it down a bit.
Bringing my system back to 4.8 from 5ghz seems to have made it a lot more stable, also Microsoft & intel have been messing about with cpu code due to the recent vulnerabilities, that was also in May... Anyways, if dialing back your overclock doesn't fix the issue, try going back to a older version of windows like the spring update, see if that makes your pc run smoother.
__________________
Intel Core i9 7980xe @ 4.5GHz @1.18v - MSI MEG X299 - NoName 2666mhz @ CL19 3200mhz - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x2 - Aorous Extreme RTX 2080 Ti - 2 x 360 Rad + D5 Pump - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-06-18, 07:35 AM
demonking's Avatar
demonking demonking is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 938
Hey all,
Sorry have not had the time to properly look into it yet, life keeps getting in the way. Hopefully next week I'll get to look into it but this is where I'm at with it.
Im certain that either Windows is borked or my mobo is dying. Last night I booted it up after work and before I'd even unlocked the pc, YouTube was playing music and when I logged in all the tabs I'd closed before were open. The previous night it refused to power off, Windows (apparently) shut down but the system kept doing something as the hdd led was blinking like a stranded survivor trying to flag down a plane.
It could be my main drive dying but its less than a year old ssd. Clocks won't be an issue as the max I can oc is 4 as my cpu is non k. No memory issues so windows reckons. The psu was a 700w Coolermaster from the old days of first gen i5s and I've moved over to a bronze 650 Coolermaster something or other. I genuinely think this is a Windows issue but I'm not ruling out that something died when I moved over to the new case and psu.
I'll update when I've managed to take her apart again and put back together. Going to run Crystal disk as well and if not try and go back to an older version of Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-07-18, 10:30 AM
demonking's Avatar
demonking demonking is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 938
Ok all i have come to the conclusion that my secondary drive is starting to fail

Im going to clone the drive this evening to see if this help, not 100% this is the issue but its worth a try.
Advice, is it as easy as assigning the new drive the same letter as the old one to trick windows into thinking that nothing has happened?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-07-18, 02:12 PM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 498
If it’s a clone, it’s pretty much that easy. Just change it through computer management > disk management panel. Might have to fiddle if the original letter gets assigned to another drive but it’s not usually difficult.
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ AMD Radeon Vega 56 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
Seasonic Prime 750W ⁞⁞ Polaris 961 256GB ⁞⁞ 850 Pro 512GB ⁞⁞ M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB x2 ⁞⁞ Samsung C27HG70 + Dell 2408WFP
Ducky Shine 5 ⁞⁞ AJA Kona LSe ⁞⁞ RME HDSPe AIO ⁞⁞ Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14-07-18, 02:32 PM
demonking's Avatar
demonking demonking is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 938
Cool, thanks for that.
Im glad u said that. I've cloned many many primary drives but never a secondary. Was worried that windows would have some registry entry that had the device id attach to it. We'll see I spose. See how long an 8 year old failing 1tb drive takes to clone
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:10 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.